Time Capsule has not backed up in 20 days

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jsf721, Jun 13, 2012.

  1. jsf721 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Location:
    Li, NY
    #1
    That is the message I was greeted with today. When I tried to open the time capsule by clicking on the ICON it said Time Capsule cannot get contacted woud you like to set up time capsule?

    What happened? What do I do to re set it?

    I hope I dont have to do it all over again.
     
  2. atlanticza macrumors 6502a

    atlanticza

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Cape Town
    #2
    Setting it up again is pretty easy, if you have to do it.
     
  3. JustMartin macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Check that your mac and the time capsule are on the same network, we have two wi-fi networks in our house (one for work, one for private home) and that's the usual cause. Try running airport utility to see if you can see time capsule with that. I'm presuming TC is on and showing a happy green light.

    Depending on how active you've been over the last 20 days, you may have to backup again from scratch anyway.
     
  4. jsf721 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Location:
    Li, NY
    #4
    Thanks and. I do have 2 networks. One for guests the other for the family. I called Apple since this is a few months old. Told to pull power on Tc. Restart iMac. Plug in time capsule. all fixed! Gotta love this stuff. They said this could happen if a back up was interrupted for whatever reason and I looks lime the back up on the last day did not complete. We will see the the next on is successful. Thanks for the response.
     
  5. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #5
    Please carefully read:

    http://pondini.org/TM/Troubleshooting.html

    and

    http://pondini.org/TM/FAQ.html
     

Share This Page