Time capsule initial back up

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by markwise, May 20, 2008.

  1. markwise macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Almere / Netherlands
    #1
    after two days it seems that TC has backed up 26 GB from my Macbook Air

    MB by MB I saw it nibble away .
    The little " clock icon" turning and turning.

    Now even after back up is finalized the icon still turns .
    Clicking on it shows a window stating " RESERVE kopie voltooien" That is
    Dutch for " finalizing spare copy" Looking into TC preferences shows a blue white bar in a revolving motion ? so ther eis stil something running ?

    Will the clock icon ever stop turning or will it remain turning to indicate that TC is contniously operating ?
     
  2. gwsat macrumors 68000

    gwsat

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #2
    I did my first backup from my MB Pro to my TC last Friday. Although I did it wirelessly, the entire backup of 70+ gig was accomplished in less than 20 hours. Further, I have never seen nor heard of the “finalizing spare copy” notice. Thus, it appears that something may be amiss in your setup. Sorry I couldn’t provide any definitive help.
     
  3. Squelch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    TLH, FL
    #3
    You might want to try erasing the disk in Airport Utility and starting the initial backup over again. I had to do that with one of my Time Capsules. I tried doing the initial backup wirelessly. It failed. Then I connected my MacBook Air with an ethernet cable to the TC for the initial backup. It failed. After erasing the TC hard drive and trying again, it worked.

    I installed a second TC in a different location, and did the initial backup of about 40GB from a MacBook wirelessly, and had no issues.

    I think there are some that work with no problems, and some that don't...
     
  4. cecilworsley macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    #4
    Wired or Wireless

    Hello i now that this is an old thread but I have a MBP that will fail every time i try to wireless backup, both the TC and the MBP are brand new should i erase the TC and do the initial backup wired. If i do the initial backup wired will i then be able to do the incremental backups wireless!
     
  5. gwsat macrumors 68000

    gwsat

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #5
    After I got my TC, not quite 4 months ago, I did the first backup of about 80 GB wirelessly and it worked, although it took 20 hours. I got lucky. Network stability seems not to be the TC's strong suit. Thus, Apple knows whereof they speak when they recommend that the initial backup be done via Ethernet. I have had exponentially more network problems with my TC in less that 4 months of use than I had with its predecessor, a Belkin Pre-N wireless router, which I used for 2 years.
     

Share This Page