Time Capsule issue after Macbook crash

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by fastjack, May 4, 2012.

  1. fastjack, May 4, 2012
    Last edited: May 4, 2012

    fastjack macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #1
    hi there

    background:

    after a recent login issue, I was advised by the Apple Genius to reinstall my OS and then restore from my Time Machine backup. This didn't work and after taking back a 2nd time have now got a bare install of Lion on.

    He has advised that I restore everything manually via finder, as he believes the issue is related to a corrupted backup.

    My Question:

    I still need to arrange to configure my TM backups, however when I now open Time Machine is says

    "You haven't selected a location for Time Machine Backups
    Set up a new disk or use a previous disk"

    Am I best starting a new backup for this rebuilt laptop or select use the previous disk?

    any help would be appreciated

    thanks
     
  2. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #2
    It's simple enough to point your mac at the TC again, just select it in Time Machine options,,But if the TC was the cause of the corruption, I'd get it checked over prior using it again.
     
  3. fastjack thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #3
    thanks for your reply.

    thought creating a fresh backup might end up being the solution.

    I can always leave the other backups on there just incase I have missed something :)

    now the manual restores begin...
     

Share This Page