Time Capsule novice here: must it be plugged into router?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by karana, Jul 27, 2014.

1. karana macrumors newbie

Hi all, a novice here. I purchased a Time Capsule to use as a backup for my macbook Air as well as for my husband's macbook too. I just created a wireless network base station using DHCP; router mode is "off (bridge mode)." I don't know what those last two phrases mean, just reporting what the AirPort Utility says. The network base station I created has a different name and password than our usual home wireless network.

All is working fine, only the Time Capsule is currently plugged into my wireless router using an ethernet cable. I thought I wouldn't need to have the TC plugged into a router--I thought it would work wirelessly. Can you please help me figure out how to reconfigure the settings so that we can use the Time Capsule wirelessly, without keeping it plugged into the router? Many thanks.

Also, we will be traveling soon for a while for research, and will bring the TC with us. Will we be able to continue to back up wirelessly through Time Machine while we travel, when the Time Capsule is not plugged into a router? Thanks.

2. NT1440 macrumors G4

NT1440

The time capsule is one of the best routers out there right now.

My suggestion, disconnect your current router and use the Time Capsule to its full potential.

3. karana thread starter macrumors newbie

I'm not sure what you mean; use the Time Capsule as a router itself? Forgive my ignorance, I didn't realize that this was one of its functions--I was thinking of it primarily as large-volume storage and consolidation for my many many external hard drives. That would mean that it would remain plugged in, right?

When I travel with it, will I be able to back up wirelessly to it?

4. NT1440 macrumors G4

NT1440

The Time Capsule is literally a an Airport Extreme router with a hard drive built in.