Time Capsule only creates 802.11a - 802.11b network .. !?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mgpg89, Dec 18, 2009.

  1. mgpg89 macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #1
    [​IMG]

    Got a brand new Time Capsule, set it up and got really slow wifi speeds.
    I checked the manual settings and it seems it only creates 802.11a - 802.11b, NOT 802.11n

    Can anyone tell me why?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    Odds are it's simply not configured for 802.11n. This isn't too hard to fix, but you do have to go into Manual Setup on AirPort Utility to correct it.
     
  3. mgpg89 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
  4. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #5
    Is 802.11n legal in your country? I know some European countries aren’t allowed to use 802.11n at the 5Ghz spectrum. Otherwise, hold down “option” and click on the radio drop-down menu.
     
  5. mgpg89 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #6
    how do I find out?
     
  6. reebzor macrumors 6502a

    reebzor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #7
    is your wifi too slow to go to google?
     

Share This Page