Time Capsule Open VPN

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by bkd0255, Jun 21, 2015.

  1. bkd0255, Jun 21, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2015

    bkd0255 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Location:
    Arizona
    #1
    Ive been doing some research and can't find anyone with this setup. I would like to only broadcast one signal. I have a Airport time capsule and I know that open vpn can't be used directly from there. But what if I buy a router that supports DD-wrt and use open vpn on that and then directly connect my airport router directly to there with an ethernet cable without broadcasting an extra signal. Only the one from my time capsule. Is this set-up possible? If so any links or steps I can take? Also would it matter if I got an 802.11AC router or N+ router seeing as I am only planning on using an ethernet cord to connect it to the airport time capsule.

    Thanks Guys!

    [modem]----[dd-wrt router]----[time capsule] ))))

    and have the dd-wrt router giving only secured vpn data to the time capsule to output via wi-fi
     
  2. eduardrw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    #2
    Do you think anybody understands what you are trying to do from above description??
     
  3. bkd0255 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Location:
    Arizona
    #3
    [modem]----[dd-wrt router]----[time capsule] ))))

    and have the dd-wrt router giving only secured vpn data to the time capsule to output via wi-fi
     
  4. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #4
    get a nice AC router that supports dd-wrt, and turn off the wifi on the time capsule.

    I don't have one myself, but i've heard the speeds on the time capsule's wireless are a bit lacking.
    i've got a netgear r7000 and it's been working like a champ on dd-wrt,

    also with the proper config, you can forward traffic from only certain internal IPs over the VPN,
    I run my torrents on a linux box, made a virtual adapter with it's own IP, torrent client is bound to that, and only traffic from that one "adapter" goes over VPN, everything else is over the full speed connection. I'm using privateinternetaccess.com

    also would be handy for getting around region blocks on the aTV.
     
  5. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #5
    @bkd0255 You can use a router that supports OpenVPN with the Time Capsule in bridge mode. When in bridge mode, the Time Capsule will simply act as a basic NAS and wireless access point. I recommend a solid wired router as purchasing a wireless router would thereby defeat the use of the Time Capsule.

    @waw74 The AirPort Time Capsule is a standard AC1300 router. It's performance lacks in benchmarks compared to routers like the Nighthawk and some ASUS models but it is a solid performer.
     

Share This Page