Time Capsule password problems

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by MacDuster, Sep 10, 2013.

  1. MacDuster, Sep 10, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2013

    MacDuster macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #1
    I am having trouble with my Time Capsule, backing up, and passwords.

    Earlier today, I was able to do a full initial backup from our iMac to the Time Capsule. The iMac had the password in memory, it accepted the password no problem.

    This evening, I am trying to start a new initial backup of my MacBook. On this machine, it didn't remember the password. I tried the one I had written down, but it was incorrect. So I went into Time Capsule setup and changed the device password to a new one. I entered the new password into Time Machine and it accepted it.

    But, when it went to start the backup, I got an error message window stating there was a problem with the username or password. I have tried the network access password and it is not accepted.

    Can anyone figure out what I'm doing wrong? Or if there is a problem with the Time Capsule?

    I also went into the settings and changed the network password. However, I haven't changed the password on my MacBook for accessing the network, and I am still able to connect. It's as if the Time Capsule is not accepting the changes, although it says it is.
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    How about let's start over...

    There are two passwords you need to setup on the Time Capsule (TC). One is for the device itself (this password is also used to mount the network disk for Time Machine) and the second is for wifi.

    First turn off Time Machine on all your computers. Start Keychain on both machines and search for "capsule" in the search bar then delete every password entry there having anything to do with the Time Capsule.

    Now start Airport Utility and go to this screen and setup a wifi password then update the TC. Now join the wifi network and enter the new password and have Keychain save it.

    [​IMG]

    Now start Airport Util again and go to this screen and set a PW for the base station. This password will be needed to login to the TC to make changes.

    [​IMG]

    Now go to this screen and set it up like in my screenshot then update the settings to the TC. This will set it so anybody that wants to access the TC disk (like for a Time Machine backup) will be asked for the base station password (not the wifi one) we set above.

    [​IMG]

    Now go back to each computer and in the Time Machine prefs select the TC disk for backup and turn on Time Machine. Enter the base station password you set earlier (again not the wifi PW) and save it to keychain.

    This should fix you up.
     
  3. priitv8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #3
    As the device password is also used to administer your TC, I would do this only in case if you are the sole user of the disk and network. So you've basically compromised your TC admin credentials. Otherwise, set the disk sharing security to either Disk Password (one pwd for everyone), or to With Accounts (individual passwords for everyone). That way you can protect disk sharing with a different password than TC admin. Although I reckon I ran into some weird problems with the latter option. It wanted to create individual folders for everyone, without commonly accessible area or smth. Don't recall any more, was quite a while ago.
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Yes, this is a good point. From the OPs post it sounded like it was "all in the family", so this was not an issue and I was attempting to simplify things.
     
  5. MacDuster, Oct 5, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2013

    MacDuster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #5
    Thanks for the above. It took a while for me to have the free time to do this.

    I followed the steps as best I could. Deleting the passwords in Keychain was fine. However, my Airport Utility did not show the same screens for the TC as you showed in your reply. I did update the WIFI password, and then the TC password itself, but I am still getting the same error message when my MacBook and iMac try to connect via Time Machine.

    It's as if the Time Capsule is not updating the password when it says it is.

    I even tried resetting the Time Capsule password via the reset button in the back, and this didn't solve the problem.
     
  6. ITkaos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    #6
    The problem with TC not remember your wifi password is a firmware problem, Lots and lots of users is having this issue. Just bought a brand new TC with the same problem even after a firmware Update. Hope Apple fix this asap :-(
     
  7. MacDuster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #7
    Well, I finally resolved this one.

    One day when I had the time to make a trek to the Apple Store, in case the TC just crashed, I did a full reset of the TC. I held the button in the back for about 5 seconds.

    Prepared to do a complete setup of the TC, I was happy to learn it had only reset the TC password. Entered a new password, changed the passwords on the computers using the TC as backup and all was well.
     

Share This Page