Time Capsule Restore on New Mac Mini

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by ParishM, Oct 29, 2009.

  1. ParishM macrumors regular

    ParishM

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.
    #1
    i did a last minute backup before i sold my late 07
    Mini last weak and I was a little apprehensive about
    how well the restore would work on the new 2.53
    mini.

    Well I can now say I am very impressed, i turned
    on the new Mini and it asked if i wanted to restore
    and gave me a few options. i chose the TC and it
    was off and running, it took about 2hrs. when
    it finished it was like i was still using the old Mini,
    a perfect image clone. all my email, pictures,
    docs, etc. were there just like i left them.

    so for those who have never done a restore you
    have nothing to worry about (as long as your TC
    doesn't crap out first LOL)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. mercuryguy macrumors member

    mercuryguy

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Tampa
    #2
    so did you install the old leopard and erase the new snow-leopard?
     
  3. ParishM thread starter macrumors regular

    ParishM

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.
    #3
    no it restored everything from Leopard onto Snow Leopard purfectly.
     
  4. mercuryguy macrumors member

    mercuryguy

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Tampa
    #4
    but you could have also restored the OS too with time machine along with data, right?
    Sorry if this is basic, I am new to mac.
     
  5. reebzor macrumors 6502a

    reebzor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #5
    you would need to boot to a leopard disk first. Time machine backs up files, not the operating system.
     
  6. ParishM thread starter macrumors regular

    ParishM

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.
    #6
    yes i believe if the new mini had a blank drive it would have
    restored it with Leopard but the new mini had 10.6 so it took
    all my info and files and imported them into snow leopard.
     
  7. reebzor macrumors 6502a

    reebzor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #7
    Kind of but not really. If the Mini had a blank drive, you would need to boot to something (i.e. Leopard disk, SL disk) which ever disk you booted to, it would install that OS.
     
  8. ParishM thread starter macrumors regular

    ParishM

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.
    #8
    i understand, at first i thought it was like the windoze program
    "ghost" that created an image of your drive but when it installed
    all my files into snow leopard i realized it wasn't.

    it still works great no matter how it does it :D:apple:
     
  9. cc1995 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #9
    I also have a question regarding migrating. I just bought a new 20 inch Imac with a ATI Dedicated Graphics card with Snow Leopard. It comes with Ilife 08 though. The computer I'm replacing had Ilife 09 on it which I had bought but no longer have the install disc for...I cracked it with my rolling chair. I made a clone of my old computer on and external drive with Superduper so that I could migrate all my information to the new machine. Here's my question. Can I migrated the program Ilife 09 off of my old computer from the clone to my new computer, and can I do this without migrating Leopard over from the old system onto my new system that has Snow Leopard?
     

Share This Page