Time Capsule router question.

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by londonmystery, Aug 16, 2009.

1. londonmystery macrumors 6502

londonmystery

Being a mac newbie I am trying to figure something out.

Can the new Time Capsule be used as a stand alone router or do I have to connect it to my existing Sky router?
    I believe people on here call it bridging.

Can I use Airport express with it to extend my network or will I still need the Extreme?

Thanks for all replies. :):)

2. TEG macrumors 604

TEG

1) Your Sky Router actually sets up your Internet connection, so you must connect the TC to the Sky Router. You can set it up for bridging, which just makes your Internet Router/Modem your only DHCP server.

2) You can use both the Extreme and Express to extend the network via WDS.

TEG

3. londonmystery thread starter macrumors 6502

londonmystery

thanks for the response.

Regarding the express, will that work with the time capsule or would I need the extreme as well?

4. TEG macrumors 604

TEG

It will work with either or both.

TEG

5. sab150 macrumors regular

i am having the same problem! i currently have a belkin modem.. and i want to replace it with the 1tb time capsule.. i cant for love nor money get it to work on its own. i have followed tutorials but cant seem to find anything on replacing the old router with solely the timecapsule

any ideas?

6. londonmystery thread starter macrumors 6502

londonmystery

from the advice above I would think that the time capsule works along side the router and not without it. if you want to stick with with Apple stuff get the Airport Extreme as well as the TC. :):)

7. sab150 macrumors regular

thats completely crazy! so it wont work without a router? whats all this dual band nonsense.. sorry network is one thing i cant understand! does it "boost" my signal? so if i getit to work will i have to connet to my old router with time capsule plugged in or to the new networks that time capsule creates