Time Capsule Speed Up

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by svetliaka, May 7, 2012.

  1. svetliaka macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    #1
    Hello,

    I bought the new Time Capsule few days ago, because I read somewhere, that I will be able to use the maximum of my internet connection. I have a 150mbps internet connection. I know that I can't use the full speed of it, but tried with different wireless devices and the speed I get is much slower. With the cable I am able to achieve 120-130mbps, but with the Time Capsule no more than 40mbps...
    Is there any option which I have to choose or something that I am missing?

    Thank you in advance!

    Svetlin
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    You'll never get even close to your full, advertised internet speed over wireless.
     
  3. Dweez macrumors 65816

    Dweez

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Down by the river
    #3
    The initial backup(s) take some time to complete, but once it's done the subsequent incrementals are pretty quick to complete.

    I back up 4 macs to my 2 tb time capsule with no issues. It's the first full backup which takes some time.
     
  4. svetliaka thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    #4
    Thank you, but I am not trying to backup my Man. I generally bought it, because I wanted to be able to use a better speed of my internet connection.
     
  5. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #5
    Then use a wired connection.
     
  6. svetliaka thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    #6
    Yes, I can use a wired connection, but I thought that I can achieve around 70-80mbps using TimeCapsule.
     
  7. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #7
    In theory you could achieve up to 150 Mbps on your connection. Not really sure what else you want us to tell you.
     
  8. svetliaka thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    #8
    I was wondering if there is any option or something that I need to turn on on the router's settings, in order to get a faster speed...
     
  9. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #9
    No, there isn't.
     
  10. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #10
    You're not giving much info, but, it all depends on which wifi standard your computer supports and whether it can do 5 GHz N. The Time Capsule is dual band so it can support 5 GHz and 2.4 GHz. Normally 5 GHz is faster since it's not as congested.

    With my Linksys N wireless router I can get up to around 90 mbps using N wireless on the 5 GHz channel when connected with my MBA.
     
  11. svetliaka thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    #11
    Hi,

    Thank you for your reply! I have the last MacBookPro IntelCore i7, so it supports wireless N. I also tried first with Linksys N router, but the speed wasn't faster. After that I am on the search for a better wireless router and finally bought Time Capsule, but it is the same speed...
     
  12. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #12
  13. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #13
    A lot will also depend on how congested your neighbourhood is. I am in a city with lots of multi-storey buildings nearby and my router can regularly see over 20 other users in the 2.4GHz band.

    When I connect wired to my router I get my full 30Mbs but wireless I can only get 16Mbs on a good day. At peak times it is often much less.
     
  14. svetliaka thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    #14
    Screen Shot 2012-05-13 at 12.20.55.png
     
  15. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #15
    Your signal strength (RSSI) is good and you're connected at 5 GHz with a 300 transmit rate. The connection looks as fast as its going to be using current wireless and I am afraid that there isn't anything that you change to make it faster. Let's hope that the new gigabit wireless tech is adopted in the near future.
     
  16. marzer macrumors 65816

    marzer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #16
    You've tried two different brands of wireless routers with similar performance results. That may indicate the issue is not your router but perhaps your environment.

    How are you testing the speeds in order to determine, "With the cable I am able to achieve 120-130mbps, but with the Time Capsule no more than 40mbps..."?

    How far are you from the wireless router? What obstacles might exist between your computer and the router? That might be causing signal degradation.
     
  17. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #17
    The screenshot provided shows his Mac has a 300mbps link to the router, which is as fast as it goes (wirelessly). If he had any distances/obstacle issues, I wouldn't think it would show 300mbps for that.
     
  18. FlatlinerG macrumors 6502a

    FlatlinerG

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #18
    Is that the transmit rate? My MacBook Pro connected wirelessly to my Time Capsule is getting 450..
     
  19. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #19
    Oh yeah, forgot that the newer Macs + routers can do 450. I'm still stuck in 300 land. :)
     
  20. svetliaka thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    #20
    Thank you for the reply guys!

    I am sitting in the room, where the router is... After changing the Encryption I was able to hit 70mbps. That is my speed record so far... Still think that I can go for 100mbps...
     
  21. jmcgeejr macrumors 6502

    jmcgeejr

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #21
    I just setup a buddy with his time capsule and his new macbook, it links up at 300Mbps, his internet is 150/150 and over wifi he gets 130/130 stable.
     
  22. svetliaka thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    #22
    Sounds great. What encryption is he using? Are there any specific options that you enabled to achieve that speed?
     
  23. Peteman100 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    #23
    Make sure you are connected to wireless N, 5 Ghz with a 40 Mhz channel width
     
  24. svetliaka thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    #24
    Yes, I think you can see this from the screenshot above.
     
  25. Petermartin812 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    #25
    Hi

    Not sure if you got a solution for the speed issue! I had similar problem!
    You need to get a software called wifi scanner from the app store on to ur mac. Run it and it will tell you on what chanel you have to set up your 2.4 ghz and 5 ghz net! I use chanel 11 and 36. My speed went from 30 mbps to over 100! Same happened at my parents home! Let me know if that worked! You can access ur timecapsule via airport app on iphone or mac!
     

Share This Page