Time Capsule Sudden Jump in IP addresses?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by KapitanIksrog, Dec 29, 2011.

1. KapitanIksrog macrumors regular

I tried various searches for this and fear that I may not have my networking lingo down so I apologize in advance if this has been answered or asked.

I have been using a Time Capsule as my router for almost 3 years. I have a lot of devices that use it. Between TiVo's, Printers, Home MacBooks, Work Laptops, there are usually 10-15 devices with active wireless network connections. I noticed that my ip addresses are always 10.0.1.x where x is always in the 2-15 range. This week I saw that my Sony Google TV was 10.0.1.27 and some devices are up into the 30's. This isn't affecting performance but I am curious as to why the IP's have suddenly risen.

Right now I have (according to IP Scanner App and Airport Utility)

A week ago this list would have been 10.0.1.2 through 10.0.1.14 (or something like that). Is this anything I should be concerned about? If not, I am just really curious why this numbering changed after 3 years.

2. reese637 macrumors newbie

reese637

Time Capsule IP

Hello and happy new year!
    To help explain your question, let me explain how your router (I'll call TC for brevity) works.