Time Capsule through Airport Security (Carry-on)

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by jpl6, Aug 28, 2011.

  1. jpl6 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #1
    Hi, so I'll be taking a domestic flight and will be bringing my Time Capsule in a carry-on. I was wondering if I'd need to take it out for the airport security scanner check.
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    It's not a computer, so you don't need to take it out unless they ask you to.
     
  3. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #3
    You don't need to, if they suspect something TSA will then ask you if they can open your bags and take a look at it. Nothing serious except for the hassle.
     
  4. jpl6 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #4
    Thanks for the responses! I was just looking for a way to reduce any potential hassle. One time going through airport security TSA had me take my iPad + laptop slice battery out in two separate instructions, so my bag ended up getting scanned three times.

    Nothing serious, but yeah, not fun either, heh - the not fun part mainly being the attitude the agents had the second time they told me to take something out.
     
  5. colmaclean macrumors 68000

    colmaclean

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Berlin
    #5
    I recently took my Time Capsule and six 3.5" hard drives through hand luggage security.

    After the first scan, they asked me to take the gear out of my bag, onto a tray and passed it through the scanner again.

    That was it. Easy peasy.

    You could save time by getting your Time Capsule out before the initial scan. Makes things a lot clearer for the staff and saves too much human contact. :)
     

Share This Page