Time Capsule, Time Machine, MacBookPro

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Minding, Jan 12, 2015.

  1. Minding macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    #1
    After 10 hours, I see 17 GB of the 254 GB of data has been backed up (with nothing else running). Please tell me I'm doing something wrong and it's not going to take another week to complete the process. Thanks.

    Minding
     
  2. jimholcomb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    #2
    I'm guessing you're connecting wirelessly, connect wired for the first backup if you can.
     
  3. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #3
    Current or previous generation Time Capsule?

    254 GB should take less than a day unless the wireless network is flakey or marginal. What are your signal levels?

    It is a lot faster and less chance of error when you use a ethernet cable for your first backup.
     
  4. Minding thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    #4
    Ethernet cable

    The news implied in both responses is not good.

    Direct connect two feet away with an Ethernet cable. Bought the hardware this morning because I have to reinstall Yosemite because Apple analyzed my MBPro and declared Yosemite to be the reason for my slow system.

    Given your replies, my only guess is that Yosemite is the reason for the slowdown and I'm stuck.
     
  5. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #5
    I recall seeing some discussion in other parts of the forum about TM and Yositime issues... thought they were sorted out by now.
     
  6. Minding thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012

Share This Page