Time Capsule to Apple Tv via ios device

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Olav-G, Jul 27, 2011.

  1. Olav-G macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    #1
    Hi.

    Can anyone please help me on this:

    Is it possible to watch a movie loaded on time capsule via my ipod touch and forwarding it to apple tv? (air play - airvideo etc)
    I would like to sit in the sofa controling my time capsule to pick a media file to play on my apple tv via my ios device. Then I don`t have to leave my pc on all the time and let the ipod be the "computer"
    Is this possible? If not. what is the best possible solution to this problem?

    Thank you for answers.
     
  2. bpaluzzi macrumors 6502a

    bpaluzzi

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #2
    It's not possible to do what you're asking, but you can play media files directly from the ios device.
     
  3. EvilC5 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Location:
    Hanover MD
    #3
    I think it can be done, although you will have to still have a computer running to run the app.

    AirVideo can take files from a location and airplay to ATV2 via iOS, but it requires the server app running on a computer.

    so that probably will not work if you just want to stream directly from the TC.

    not sure if the new seagate hotspot external and iOS app will stream via AirPlay, but that might be something worth looking at if you dont want to have a system running.

    but if you are going to have the system running, you might as well run iTunes to stream from.
     
  4. Olav-G thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    #4
    Seagate goflex

    Thanks for quick answers!

    To bad this might not be possible. It would have been so nice to have it that way.
    I e-mailed seagate support asking if this would be possible with the new goflex hdd. I am still waiting to hear from them.
    Bad that it only have usb 3 when all the macs have usb 2 and thunderbolt instead. You cant add files over wi-fi......
     
  5. augustosouza macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #5
    Directly to TV ?

    I have some of the same problem here. Did you tried connect the TC directly from your TV ? Is that possible?
     

Share This Page