Time Capsule unavailable

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by blueb3ll, Dec 18, 2013.

1. blueb3ll macrumors member

Hi
    Ever since I updated to Maverick, my Time Capsule doesn't show up in Airport Utilities. Can anybody help please?

2. satcomer macrumors 603

satcomer

Turn off the wireless card. Then open Finder window and go to the folder /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/ and throw it out into the Trash Can, then IMMEDIATELY REBOOT to rebuild those files. Then go into System Preferences->Network pane and rejoin your wireless network.

3. blueb3ll thread starter macrumors member

Time Capsule unavailable

Thanx. Am a bit hesitant doing that as I'm not an expert and don't want to loose my Inet connection.

4. blueb3ll thread starter macrumors member

5. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

I don't think this is a problem with Mavericks or your computer. It looks more like a problem with your Time Capsule.

Exactly how is your Time Capsule connected? Is it connected by ethernet directly to a cable/dsl modem of some sort? Is the cable/dsl modem one of those with a built in router?

What I would try is unplug your cable/dsl modem, then reset the Time Capsule following this, then plug the power to the modem back in.

This will remove your wifi settings from the Time Capsule, so you will need to use Airport Utility to set a wifi password again.

6. blueb3ll thread starter macrumors member

Time Capsule unavailable

My TC is only connected via wifi and I have already reset it more than once. I've also tried connecting it to the adsl box with an Ethernet cable but it didn't make any difference. I live in France, so am using the SFR network with their so called Neuf Box like the one on the second picture if you follow this link:

https://www.google.fr/search?q=neuf...zQ7AbwioDYDQ&ved=0CAkQ_AUoAQ&biw=1262&bih=621

7. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member