Time Capsule wireless hard drive sharing slow?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by deriko100, Aug 23, 2008.

  1. deriko100 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    Hi, i was going to get a airport express but i also wanted a external hard drive then i thought of the time capsule because it has a built in 500 gb hard drive and its wireless it can also share my printer and my actiontec router doesn't work well, i was wondering how slow it would take to transfer a file can you post some comments thanks
     
  2. Halsey12 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    Portland
    #2
    I've only used it to pass digital photos between my wife's computer and mine... and grabbing 5 to 6 4 mb photos and transfering them to the Time Capsule doesn't take any noticeable time.
     
  3. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    uhh...

    I've found the majority of transfers easily surpass 10/100 ethernet speeds.

    So in other words, pretty damn fast for most of us.
     
  4. deriko100 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    how fast is it streaming movies or music or photos?
     
  5. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
  6. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    yep

    I've never streamed anything more than 720p, but that goes FAST, so I'd assume 1080p wouldn't be a problem. Music and photos are not even a concern.
     
  7. deriko100 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    awsome since ill probably using ethernet on 2 computers that would be blazing :)
     
  8. CoolKen86 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #8
    I have a question too, let's say i want to tranfer a file to the TC manually like a normal external hard drive would do, would that work? or is the TC only work for time machine hourly back up?
     
  9. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #9
    Yes it would work as a regular HD, but if you plan to use it with Time Machine, you need a separate partition for it.
     
  10. CoolKen86 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #10
    What's a better option, get a 500 GB Time Capsule or but a Airport Extreme and a FW800 external hard drive?
     
  11. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #11
    huh?

    How do you plan on connecting that FW800 external hard drive to the extreme?
     
  12. The Hammer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #12
    I don't think he means to do that in this case. Rather the external drive would be connected to the computer as opposed to a Time Capsule setup. I am sure the poster knows that there isn't a Firewire connection on the Time capsule or extreme. I have been debating whether to go with a Time Capsule or a Extreme plus Ext Firewire drive myself.
     
  13. CoolKen86 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #13
    I do know that the Time Capsule does not have FW800 and i will have the drive connected directly to the computer if i get one with FW800 but i just want to know which is a better option for me...
     
  14. CoolKen86 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #14
    So what's the best choice for me? I need it to store photos, music and movies... So is either A. Time Capsule 500GB or B. A Airport Extreme with Western Digital 500 GB My Book Studio Edition. Does anyone have that HD? is it worth it?
     
  15. hogfaninga macrumors 65816

    hogfaninga

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Location:
    Chestnut Tree Cafe
    #15
    I have it and it has done a good job. I use it for backups in Time Machine connected to my Extreme N.
     
  16. superknoppix macrumors member

    superknoppix

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #16
    just dont partition the drive or it wont work anymore...(at least with airport)
     
  17. CoolKen86 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #17
    Well, i don't think i need wireless backup that much... I just thought i would be nice to have a time capsule. Does the Airport Extreme have gigabits ethernet?
     
  18. superknoppix macrumors member

    superknoppix

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #18
    the airport extreme and time capsule both have gigabit ethernet. but you need network cables that can support it... (it think they are cat6 or something...)
     

Share This Page