Time Capsule with N and G? Please Help!

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by benlee, Aug 4, 2008.

  1. benlee macrumors 65816

    benlee

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #1
    OK here is my setup:

    I have:

    A MBP (N capabilities) and a MB (G capabilities) both wirelessly backing up to 500GB Time Capsule. I also have a 500GB external hooked up to the Time Capsule which stores my movies and TV shows which stream to my Apple TV and XBox. I also Have an iPhone and a Wii (G capabilities).

    I was wondering if it is possible to hook up my airport express (G) to the Time Machine and put everything wireless on that band and put my MBP on the N band? However, will I still be able to do wireless Time Machine backups from the MB and access the external hard drive?

    Thanks For any help!
     
  2. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #2
    yes, run an ethernet cable between the time machine and the express,
    set the TM for N only,
    Set up different network names MyNetwork-G & MyNetwork-N or whatever
    on the express on the internet settings page, put connection sharing to "off bridged mode"

    anything connected to the G network, will be just as if it was connected via ethernet to the Time machine (well not speed wise, but you know what i mean)
     
  3. benlee thread starter macrumors 65816

    benlee

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #3
    Yes. I finally found some documentation (not as concise as yours and a bit more confusing) on how to do it.

    However, I set it up and did not notice any significant improvements and when I tested a backup from a G device it was taking for ever to "prepare for backup" But it took forever even when I just used the Capsule in compatibility mode so I'm not sure if there is any advantage to it.
     
  4. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #4
    You shouldn't see much difference in the "G", but the MBP should speed up on the "N"
    keep in mind on the "G" network, if you have 1 "B" device connected, the whole network drops to "B"

    and your speeds may vary, but on my network at home,
    G runs about 1-2 MB / second
    N runs about 5-7 MB / second (i'm in 5ghz N only mode, normally in the same room as the express)

    Gigabit wired, 10 - 20 MB /second depending on which drive i'm going to.
     
  5. benlee thread starter macrumors 65816

    benlee

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #5
    How do you test the speeds?
     
  6. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #6
    to test speeds either
    http://www.ragingmenace.com/software/menumeters/
    it will let you put a network speed gauge in the menu bar, plus it has CPU & memoury usage, temperatures, fans, and hard drive activity.

    or apple's activity monitor
    it's in the utilities folder in applications,
    it has all the same stuff, without having to install anything
     
  7. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #7
    Another alternative is iStat menus which I think has a wireless network portion. It also goes in your menu bar.
     
  8. benlee thread starter macrumors 65816

    benlee

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #8
    i have iStat menus I just didn't know it had that feature. Thanks.
     
  9. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    sad...

    Whatever happened to the old days when you just copied files to and from on each computer and timed it?
     
  10. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #10
    ok, i'm a dork, i too use istat menus, haven't used menu meters in forever.
     

Share This Page