Time Capsule wont back up after upgrade

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by DerekRod, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. DerekRod macrumors 6502a

    DerekRod

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Location:
    NY
    #1
    Updated to Mountain Lion Time Machine cant backup to my Capsule says the disk is already in use?Anyway to fix?This the first Intel mac Ive ever owned 2011 early MBP 13"
     
  2. DerekRod thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DerekRod

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Location:
    NY
    #2
    Heres the error that pops up no idea what it means
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Seamaster macrumors 6502a

    Seamaster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    #3
    I had similar difficulties.

    I toggled Time Machine on and off and fiddled around with the the drive selection. It finally came back to life.
     
  4. jamin00 macrumors 6502

    jamin00

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Location:
    Essex, UK.
    #4
    Just tried mine and it to dont work. The drive is beeping too oddly enough???
     
  5. DerekRod thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DerekRod

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Location:
    NY
  6. smj996c macrumors newbie

    smj996c

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Location:
    Manchester
    #6
    I had this problem initially I just put it down to the drive needing to be woken up again,

    Can you see the time capsule in finder, if so just click on the data/drive..should then hear it spin into life

    Open time machine preferences, back up now, select drive and should be ok it took a while to backup obviously as its a new OS.
     
  7. borostef macrumors 6502

    borostef

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    #7
    I had the same problem, switched the Time machine off, then I chose a different drive for backup, then switched back to the original backup drive and now it works.
     
  8. Seamaster macrumors 6502a

    Seamaster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    #8
    If problems persist, try a reset of the Time Capsule and a re-run of Airport Utility.
     
  9. elistan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Denver/Boulder, CO
    #9
    Yep, similar issue.

    First, after going into Time Machine Preferences after the ML install, there wasn't any indication of when the last and next backups were/are, or any usage info. I repointed Time Machine to my Time Capsule, which initially seemed to work. But when going into Time Machine recovery I couldn't see any of my previous backups.

    So I decided to start over - create a new, encrypted backup (previous one from Lion was unencrypted). Turns out this requires deleted the old backup (which susprised me since I though multiple machines could back up to the same Time Capsule, and I assumed this meant there wouldn't be an issue with the same machine having multiple backups.) Deleted the old backup failed though. I couldn't delete the backup file directly through Finder either - it just sat there forever, no error, but no completion to the task. I couldn't reboot the iMac because of this - no reboots allowed during a Finder action, turns out. Rebooting the Time Capsule fixed this, at which point I just shut down the iMac and went to bed.

    Next up this afternoon when I get home from work - try to delete the old backup file manually and establish a new encrypted backup.

    My theory - something about the ML upgrade doesn't close down the Time Machine backup file. Turning Time Machine off then back on seems to reinitialize things properly - just repointing TM to the Time Capsule disk doesn't do the trick. (Unfortunately for me, I didn't try the off/on thing until after I had tried establishing a new backup. Cross my fingers my HDD doesn't crash or get corrupted between now and when I can establish a new full backup. :) )
     
  10. Seamaster macrumors 6502a

    Seamaster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    #10
    I spoke too soon.

    I'm getting a persistent can't connect error in Time Machine that is only fixed by a hard reset of the Time Capsule. Even then, it only manages one backup before failing to connect again.

    Any ideas??
     
  11. Seamaster macrumors 6502a

    Seamaster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    #11
    Update and possible fix: The problem only seems to occur when the Time Capsule is configured to be added to an existing network (in my case, my broadband provider's wifi router). When the Time Capsule is configured to create its own wifi network, and the MacBook connected to that, Time Machine connectivity is much more reliable.
     
  12. lonevvolf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    #12
    Having the same problem here, where the disk is connected to the router which is extending an existing network, and also only since Mountain Lion. :( Hope this gets fixed soon!
     
  13. Magaman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #13
    I started having this issue as well last night, but mine started right after I update the SMC for power nap. Before that backups were fine. I ended up deleting the backup as there was nothing important, it's rebuilding now, so we'll see.
     
  14. elistan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Denver/Boulder, CO
    #14
    I was unable to delete the old sparsebundle file off the TC disk, so I ended up telling the TC to reformat it. (Actually, I did a one-pass of zeros.) After that, TM has been working very well and fast. Not an ideal solution, but at least I have a valid backup now. <shrug>

    I wonder if the way that ML handles sparsebundle files differs from Lion?
     

Share This Page