Time Capsule...Worth it or do you have a better storage idea?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by webella, Mar 4, 2009.

1. webella macrumors newbie

Hi,

I am new to Macs and a friend recommended getting Time Capsule for my external storage. I wondered if I could get some feedback on reliability, security, and overall product information. Also, does anyone recommend another external storage unit? Thanks in advance.

2. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

Buy an AirPort Extreme Base Station and then an external USB HDD of whatever size you want.

If you want, you can also get a USB hub and connect multiple USB drives and printers and such to the AEBS.

3. FarSeide macrumors 6502a

FarSeide

I have the first generation 1TB TC and I am extremely happy with it. I used to use it for Time Machine but I just use it as a file store to keep all my back up files.

4. sushi Moderator emeritus

sushi

When considering backup strategies be sure to look at off site backup.

This is important as your TC or external USB/FW HD could be stolen, lost in a fire, etc.

Cloud storage might be worthing looking at considering your needs and budget.

5. webella thread starter macrumors newbie

Hmmmm...great point. :eek:

Thanks for everyone's thoughts...very appreciated.

6. coopermac macrumors member

If you already have an adequate network setup then you won't need a TC for external storage. The TC contains an Airport base station as well as the HDD so you would be paying far too much for storage if you don't need the base station/router aspect of the TC.

Give more information on you current setup and why you want to add storage for a more detailed response.

7. webella thread starter macrumors newbie