Time Capsule?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Keanehb, Sep 4, 2010.

  1. Keanehb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #1
    Im looking to backup everything on my MBP. I was gonna end up buying the 1 TB but i thought i should ask what you guys think about it before i end up spending 300$. Im not to technologically savvy so i dont mind spending a little more on an apple product if it is more user friendly and has better features but i dont want to spend unnecessarily. Thanks for any help. -keane
     
  2. AppleCode macrumors regular

    AppleCode

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #2
    Why not just buy an external hard drive? ( by everything do you mean files etc. or an entire clone?)
     
  3. Keanehb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #3
    I'm just gonna be backing up my music and word documents. What kind of external hard drive should I be looking for. ( I really don't know much about computers)
     
  4. altecXP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #4
    Hitachi 1TB HDD on sale at Microcenter - $59
    Macally external HDD case that looks like a mini MacPro - $40

    My MacBook Pro backed up via time machine when it's plugged in? Priceless
     
  5. iPhone1 macrumors 65816

    iPhone1

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #5
    I would only buy the Time Capsule if you need a wireless router anyway. I have had one since they came out. First one was replaced out of warranty due to the power supply defect. The latest ones should be fine. Otherwise, just buy a cheap 1TB drive.
     
  6. TopHatPlus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    Southern Ontario
    #6
    you would be fine with a 500 GB external hard drive, the time capsule is amazing, but if you have a decent wireless router then you don't need a time capsule.
     
  7. RHVC59 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Location:
    St. Johns, Portland, Oregon
    #7
    Good advice, I have had a 500 gig Time Capsule for quite a while, it makes an excellent wireless backup solution... tho I have hung a Drobo FS of the back of it and now have have a 5-terabyte backup solution which is expandable what ever the largest five sata hard drives are available, curretly that is 10TB, which is a lot of photos and and audio files...
     
  8. Jaro65 macrumors 68040

    Jaro65

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  9. sup3r1or macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #9
    Is there a way to make your own time capsule? I dont really care about wireless router that comes with it, but I want to make my own Wireless backup solution that will be compatible with OSX.

    I stopped going to apple shops here in Thailand, they are just savagely expensive (authorized resellers) they have some 1.5 TB HDD for 700 dollars there, or time capsule for 450. That is rip off.
     
  10. RHVC59 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Location:
    St. Johns, Portland, Oregon
    #10
    You just need a wireless router with a USB port that you can plug an external hard drive in and run Time Machine pointing it the disk.

    Apple's Airport will work, but so will something like D-Link Systems D-Link AirPlus Xtreme G Wireless 108G USB Storage Router DI-624S Wireless router - http://www.google.com/products/cata...og_result&ct=result&resnum=3&ved=0CD0Q8wIwAg#

    or

    the belkin model like this one http://www.belkin.com/IWCatProductPage.process?Product_Id=459640
     
  11. MartyF81 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago IL
    #11
    I don't think you will be able to point TimeMachine at the USB connected Drive that is on the Network.

    The only way I have heard to do that is basically a "Hack". My understanding is that Timemachine does not natively support writing backups to "Network" drives other than Timecapsule. When I just tried on my MBP it does not see any of the drives as an option on my network.
     
  12. RHVC59 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Location:
    St. Johns, Portland, Oregon
    #12
    I am doing it now by pointing Timemachine to my TM partition on my droboFS...
     
  13. mgartner0622 macrumors 65816

    mgartner0622

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    #13
    You can also route your time machine backups to a USB HDD plugged into an Airport Extreme.

    Anyway, OP, I would just say to buy a hard drive if you don't mind plugging in whenever you need to backup. However, if you want wireless, get a time capsule. I've had mine since it came out, and it's saved me more times than I can count!
     
  14. cmChimera macrumors 68040

    cmChimera

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #14
    Does a time capsule ONLY do time machine backups? Or can I place any one file to it?
     
  15. Deacon* macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    #15
    That's a good question. I can move files to my TC manually. I wish the TC was the default storage location.

    Can that be done?
     

Share This Page