Time for a factory reset?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by AppleFan91, Dec 26, 2015.

  1. AppleFan91 macrumors 65816

    AppleFan91

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Location:
    Indy, US
    #1
    so while I'm getting excellent battery life, I can definitely confirm I haven't been using my phone non-stop since it was unplugged. Looking at the limited resources iOS gives into battery usage, any ideas what's constantly running. I've reset the phone and "closed" the apps out of the multitasking drawer. Any thoughts or am I looking at a factory reset?

    iPhone 6S Plus on 9.2

    image.png image.png
     
  2. Vicrooloo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    #2
    Safari through to Messages accounts for 84% of the used life

    Nothing looks odd to me.
     
  3. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #3
    Is there anything in Location Services that you haven't checked. Allowing apps to use LS when they don't really need to be can mean LS services is often running. That can be a battery killer.
     
  4. Cergman macrumors 6502a

    Cergman

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Location:
    my tesla
    #4
    9 hours of usage with 60% left?
    Where can I get your phone, because my 6s+ lasts nowhere near that long.
     
  5. AppleFan91 thread starter macrumors 65816

    AppleFan91

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Location:
    Indy, US
    #5
    Haha yeah, it's crazy off lol. I'm at 13 and 49% still. I'm not sure what's going on
     
  6. AppleFan91 thread starter macrumors 65816

    AppleFan91

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Location:
    Indy, US
    #6
    That's where I thought it might have been too but everything looks normal haha. It's quite weird
     
  7. Shadowbech macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    #7
    Clearly something is running in the background. Have you done a hard reset by holding home button and the power button simultaneously until apple logo appears? You might want to do that and fully charge your phone.
     
  8. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #8
    I would just relax and use your phone. I see no reason for a factory reset on your phone.
     
  9. JamesMB macrumors 68000

    JamesMB

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    I notice that your usage and standby time match, and that is definitely a problem. That usually indicates an issue, that is only resolved by restoring. I have seen reset settings fix it on occasion, but usually a restore is necessary.
     
  10. Realistiic macrumors regular

    Realistiic

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Location:
    Scotland
    #10
    I had this the other day, normally you can see what is causing the issue but nothing is showing up. I done a hard reset and the problem continued. It wasn't until after I reset my network setting that it starting to work correctly again
     
  11. John Mcgregor Suspended

    John Mcgregor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Location:
    Newport
  12. JamesMB macrumors 68000

    JamesMB

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #12
    The problem is, it isn't working correctly....Usage and Standby time should never match, unless there is an issue.
    Even if you take the phone off the charger and never unlock it, it still shouldn't match, because there is usually something running in the background such as mail, weather, etc.
     
  13. John Mcgregor Suspended

    John Mcgregor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Location:
    Newport
    #13
    If battery lasts as long as it should on average then it's just a cosmetic bug and you will waste much more time with factory reset to fix it. Just wait for the next update which just might fix it since it does all kinds of things when update is applied. Cleans cache etc.
     
  14. Nolander07 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    #14
    Just a hard reset will fix it. I have had that happen before on 2 different iPhones, and a hard reset cured it once and for all.
     

Share This Page