Time for an upgrade?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by TMothy, Apr 27, 2014.

1. TMothy, Apr 27, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2014

TMothy macrumors newbie

Aug 25, 2010
    Here's what I've got:

Mid 2010 17" MBP
    Processor: 2.66 GHz Intel Core i7
    Memory: 8 GB 1067 MHz DDR3 (Upgraded from 4GB's right after I bought it)
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M 512 MB
    Storage: 500GB HDD 7200RPM

I'm a freelance filmmaker and editor and I'm slowly transitioning over from FCP7 to X and after using X on several projects, I'm actually starting to like it. The only thing is that it runs so rough at times it makes me want to send my 7 iron through it.

By rough I mean literally ever 5 seconds I've getting the spinning wheel of death and it'll stop responding even when I'm doing the simplest of tasks. If I just let it sit for a few minutes it'll usually come back, or it'll just crash. When I try to skim through footage, it'll start out realtime, but soon the frame rate beings to drop to the point where I have to stop and let it sit for a second, then try and skim again. I never had these issues with FCP7 nor did I experience anything like this when trying out my friends newish MBP, which leads me to believe that X doesn't like older MBPs.

I was using a Sonnet Tempo Express34 to eSata card but after I upgraded to Mavericks, it no longer supports the card so I had to resort to daisy-chaining my main array and my backup array via Firewire 800 which I'm sure isn't helping the situation either. I really need USB 3.0 and/orThunderBolt.

I've been contemplating throwing an SSD in there to give it a little jump start but I feel like it would be better for me just to put that money towards a new MBP.

I mean 4 years is pretty good for a laptop isn't it?

I would just get a Mac Pro and be done with it but I do a fair bit of traveling and I hope I'll be doing even more so portability is key.

So here's what I was looking at getting:
    15" MacBook Pro w/ Retina