Time Machine - Adding extra storage?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Ol!ver, Nov 2, 2008.

  1. Ol!ver macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    #1
    Simple question. If I buy the 500GB TC and need more storage at some point, can I attach more storage via the USB port?

    Cheers
     
  2. wackymacky macrumors 68000

    wackymacky

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    38°39′20″N 27°13′10″W
    #2
    Yes, if the firm-ware has been updated then you can connect a external hard-dive and ahare it on a network.

    If use a hub you can add printers too.

    You can even archive your time capsule onto a USB drive. (there was a problem at the begining of the year doing this with some firm-ware versions in that trhe back-up disk images appeared as folders rather than bundled files. This I beleive has been fixed)
     
  3. Ol!ver thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    #3

    Excellent cheers. So if I connect another drive does it just work as one big drive as far as Time Machine is concerned ?
     
  4. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #4
    Nope. It won't. You'll need to start a new backup on the attached drive. You can't span a backup over two drives as it will only recognize the drives as separate drives and not one singular drive. I'm not sure, and somebody correct me if I'm wrong, but would it be possible to clone your TC's HDD to a larger capacity external and have it continue from there?
     
  5. wackymacky macrumors 68000

    wackymacky

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    38°39′20″N 27°13′10″W
    #5
    You can create an acrhive of the Time Machine back up on another HD plugged to the USB, or a number of them given they are compressed, if you have enough space.

    Supposidly you cab connect more that one HD to the USB using a hub, so you could have many archives of the TC or just save stuff directly on to one of them.


    But you cant split a time machine backup or an archive across disks.
     
  6. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #6
    I'm curious about my question though. Say you have a 500GB Time Capsule that is completely full. Would you be able to attach a 1TB drive to the USB, copy the entire contents of the TC's HDD to the attached drive and resume the backup (essentially granting you an extra 500GB)? Or are there some hidden system files on the TC's HDD that can't be copied or other such limitations that would make it impossible to do?
     

Share This Page