Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

RebornTheGame

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 1, 2012
Qld, Australia
I am a complete OS newbie.

My TM stopped making successful back ups to my TC on the 7th. Concurrently my Finder has been 'Not Responding' and generally locking up programs and tasks.

I have tried a few suggestions from a previous thread (clearing cache, checking rights, uninstalling pathfinder, etc), but despite the very patient and generous support, none of it has resolved the problems.

So I have decided to do a TM roll back to prior to the problems.

I assume my reminders, notes and contacts will be updated from the Cloud (right?).

To restore the documents I have edited since the 7th, should I copy my documents folder to my external drive?

To keep my Outlook emails, I assume I should do a pst export to my external drive... right

Any advice or suggestions?

How hard is a roll back like this to do?

Macman45

macrumors G5
Jul 29, 2011
Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
I think I\d try and sort out the other issues before you roll back.

Have you tried:

Disk Permission and verification:

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1452?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US

An PRAM Re-set:
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1379

If these both fail to correct the problem. try an SMC re-set:

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3964

You can also point the Mac back towards the Time Capsule backup device by opening time machine in system preferences and choosing the disk again. If all that fails to help then a clean installation of OSX might be a better way to go. You can then reinstate the files you need from the backup disk.

RebornTheGame

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 1, 2012
Qld, Australia
Many thanks MacMan45.

Yes, we checked Disk Verification and Permission, but I have just done this again to be sure... all green.

We also tried a PRAM re set and a SMC re set... I will try them again now.