Time Machine and Aperture

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by carlgo, Jul 25, 2011.

1. carlgo macrumors 68000

Do they actually work together? I screwed up an Aperture book and want to go back to a time prior to that, but TM keeps coming up with the new, screwed-up version. Unless I am doing something wrong...I have never used TM to restore before. I also back up the vault to a second external HD, but don't need to restore the whole program and all the photos and so that would seem to be overkill. Am running SL, not Lion still.

2. xlii macrumors 68000

xlii

When you enter time machine there is a scale on the right hand side of the screen with some dates on it. Click on one of them that will roll you back to that date. You'd want to select a time that is before your aperture file got corrupted. Once you roll time machine back you can go into it's finder window and select the folders and or files that you want to restore. Then click restore.

Good Luck.

3. carlgo thread starter macrumors 68000

Well, that is what I have been doing. Still the same messed up book is showing. Evidently you can't select "book" so I have been selecting the Ap3 icon, the one of the lens, going back to well before I made the silly experiment that messed up my book, and then after the copying there are two lens icons showing in the TM applications folder. Both look the same when opened. I must be missing a step. Also, when I go back in time, I am presented with, again, the Ap3 lens icon and then I can also get an Ap3 folder. I have tried selecting both, at different times, with the same results.

4. carlgo thread starter macrumors 68000

Jeez, the usual endless answers to which canon lens should I get, and nothing for this?!!!! C'mon, I can't be the only one that has had this problem!

5. VirtualRain macrumors 603

VirtualRain