Time Machine and HDD size question

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Kihon, Jan 25, 2008.

  1. Kihon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #1
    Hi Peepls

    Quick and simple question:

    I have a new iMac 24" with a 500GB drive and I want to run Time Machine.

    Do I need to buy an external USB HDD that's exactly the same size or can I use a smaller drive?

    Thanks!
     
  2. bacaramac macrumors 65816

    bacaramac

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #2
    Depends on how much media you plan on having. If you are only using 100Gb, then buy a drive that is larger then that. The smaller the back-up drive the less time TM can store back-ups.
     
  3. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #3
    Assuming you do not have all 500GB full, then yes, you can use a smaller drive, however Time Machine will fill it up more quickly.

    In general, you may also want to do a search here on MacRumors, as these types of Time Machine questions have been asked many, many times already.

    Also, feel free to refer to our Time Machine FAQ. :cool:
     
  4. matperk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    #4
    right.

    it's actually better to have a drive that's larger because then it can keep a series of multiple revisions of your files. The more space you have the further back it can go for restores.

    also it's something to remember that TM does not create a bootable backup of your system, you'd have to restore using your install discs, but those can use the TM drive to restore.
     
  5. Kihon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #5
    Thanks for all the quick replies! I thought I had heard on Leo LaPorte's podcast that it "HAD" to be exactly the same size :)

    Thanks ppls
     
  6. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #6
    No problem. And keep in mind, as previously noted, TM will not create a bootable backup of your machine. For that type of functionality you should look at an alternate ultility such as SuperDuper or Carbon Copy Cloner. :cool:
     

Share This Page