Time Machine and two macs

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by carl201167, Dec 27, 2007.

  1. carl201167 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    I have two macbooks in the house and would like to use Time Machine to back them up, but I am confused:

    1. Can I buy one external drive and just plug each macbook in at separate times. i.e. there won't be any TM confusion about two different macs. I'm hoping to avoid buying two drives

    2. Is Time Machine practical for laptops? i.e. Can I plug in the laptops to the external drive say weekly to get a regular backup or need they be connected all the time?

    Thanks
     
  2. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #2
    I think you would have to partition the hard drive into two partitions, one for each machine.
     
  3. carl201167 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
  4. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #4
    Use, very simple using Disk Utility in your Applications/Utilities folder
     
  5. Persifleur macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    You don't need two partitions. So long as your Macs do not share the same computer name they can happily coexist on the same disk.

    http://www.apple.com/macosx/features/timemachine.html

    To answer your second question, no the disk doesn't need to be connected all the time. If the disk isn't plugged into the laptop at the time the backup was meant to commence, it will be deferred until the such time the drive is plugged in.
     
  6. carl201167 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
  7. redAPPLE macrumors 68030

    redAPPLE

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Location:
    2 Much Infinite Loops
    #7
    i have this external drive with fw400 and fw800.

    has anyone tried to use one external drive simultaneously to backup 2 macs?

    is it possible to backup both macs at once? without unplugging the drive?
     
  8. Kolind macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #8
    I tried doing the same thing - didn't work unfortunately :(

    I also found out that it's a bad idea to swap the cable from one machine to the other (even though the first one was asleep) without ejecting it from the first one - I had to reformat the entire disk to get it working again...
     

Share This Page