Time Machine Back-up for my MB

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by a.c.earley, Feb 1, 2008.

  1. a.c.earley macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    I am now 2 weeks into the world of Apple and loving it. It takes a while to get used to the differences between the PC but I am slowly remembering the keyboard shortcuts... It's great.

    One question:

    I need to start a time machine back-up and have about 100 gig of files that will go on a 2nd HD (cunningly kept from upgrading my MB manually and put in an Icy Box Enclosure..

    So, how long will this back-up take on a USB external HD (100gigs to back-up). Hours?

    The reason I ask is that I am encoding loads of DVDs on handbrake and do not know whether to leave the back-up overnight or "The Best of Bowie" DVD encoding overnight ;-) Thanks for any info. Apologies if this may be in the wrong section.
     
  2. GfulDedFan macrumors 65816

    GfulDedFan

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    #2
    My first backup via Time Machine took place immediately after I upgraded to Leopard. I had less stuff (maybe 50GB) and I use FireWire so I don't remember it taking an incredibly long time...like an hour. It will work in the background as you use your computer but it may slow things down a little.

    I guess you should ask yourself...which is more important: Backup or Bowie

    [Man I can still remember him and Bing singing Little Drummer Boy on the Bing Crosby Christmas Special. It was amazing.]
     
  3. emptyCup macrumors 65816

    emptyCup

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    #3
    Depends on the speed of your drive. Do it overnight if it is a concern. Not having a backup would bother me more.
     
  4. basesloaded190 macrumors 68030

    basesloaded190

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #4
    when i first backed up my hard drive with time machine it took a long time, but just let it go over night and it will be just fine. it will work without you having to do anything. i had about 80 gigs when i did my first backup btw
     
  5. a.c.earley thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #5
    Thanks for the replies guys.

    How do I just backup my documents & itunes files as my external HD will not fit everything on as a back-up. Is this possible? I notice having to exclude files but I am not sure if excluding applications will also exclude itunes?

    Thanks if anyone knows
     

Share This Page