Time Machine Backup did not restore applications?

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by kat.hayes, Jun 3, 2016.

  1. kat.hayes macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    #1
    I used a Time Machine backup from a 2013 MBP to load onto a new 2015 MBP. I checked the box in the options to transfer over all of the applications, though when it was done, the aliases for applications were in my dock, though the applications were not. Why did they not get copied over? What is the point of this feature if it does not copy any applications?

    Thanks.
     
  2. randomgeeza macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    TBH, and to pass on some advice from Apple Engineering. When restoring from a TM backup, it is better to reinstall your apps from scratch than to use the TM. As to your particular situation I don't know why this has happened. But, if this were me, I would most probably start from scratch and reinstall your apps one by one.
     
  3. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #3
    what apps? and what OS is the older mac on? perhaps those apps are not up-to-date. are they actually there IN the Applications folder?
     
  4. kat.hayes thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    #4
    Both Macs are on El Capitan with a slight point update difference.

    I was trying to copy over Adobe CC programs, MS Office, along with VLC, 1Password, Skype, Feedly, Wunderlist...not a single one of them ended up in the Applications folder.
     
  5. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #5
    With Time Machine there is (or was) an option to not backup the System folder and applications. There were rare reports of that preference being set without the user's knowledge.
     
  6. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #6
    generally, you're best off doing a clean install of apps; at the least, this insures that all support files (like the million, scattered-about files from adobe) get in the right place.

    one thing: what version, for example, of CC? meaning, was this an older version that carried over as you updated your previous mac to el capitan?...
     
  7. kat.hayes thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    #7
    Adobe CC2015
     
  8. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #8
    do clean installs, and you should be good to go...
     
  9. NoBoMac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    #9
    Forgive the possible ignorance, but, has OP gone into TM and see if there is backups for the programs in question?

    And: has OP tried to copy those over via "Restore" in TM?
     

Share This Page