Time Machine Backup from Macbook to Mac Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by kxfrog, Aug 13, 2009.

  1. kxfrog macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I have a backup drive in my mac pro is it possible to backup my macbook to the mac pro backup drive. Wirelessly or otherwise:confused:
     
  2. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #2
    I don't think so. I think backup is only available when an external HDD is used and won't work if the HDD is in another computer.
     
  3. kxfrog thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    please help!!!! is there any software or anything i can do to backup to my mac pro i dont want to go out and buy an external hard drive:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:
     
  4. ecking macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    #4
    Unless you were to partian your mac pro's drive you'll have no such luck.
     
  5. kxfrog thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    i have two seperate hard drives in my mac pro one for leo and win 7 and the other for backups can i partition my backup drive and use that to backup to from my macbook if so how?
     
  6. kxfrog thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    UK
  7. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #7
    If it is possible (which I doubt), the only way to do so is if you put your Mac Pro into Target Disc Mode but even if you do that, I don't know if you will see all HDD's in your Mac Pro or just the main HDD with OS X on it. The whole point of Time Machine is to separate your backup data from the/a main computer so that if you're computer fails, your data is protected. With your method, it kind of defeats the whole purpose. Why don't you just get another external HDD and make that as a backup or take out the HDD in your Mac Pro, put it in an enclosure and make it an external HDD?
     

Share This Page