Time Machine backup problems

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by Cutiekitty92, Sep 2, 2016.

  1. Cutiekitty92 macrumors 65816

    Cutiekitty92

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Is anyone else having time machine back up problems since using the beta software?

    Mine will not backup at all, tried everything
     
  2. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #2
    With Console you should be able to find (and then share) details of the problem.
     
  3. Scary Spice macrumors regular

    Scary Spice

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Location:
    British Columbia
    #3
    One Macbook Air has determined it was not happy with the integrity of the TC backups 4 times though the beta process and requested to rebuild a new backup image each time. It has not happened (yet) with the current beta. We are hoping this bug is squashed.
     
  4. Cutiekitty92 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Cutiekitty92

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I have decided to not try backup until the actually OS is realeased as its clearly the beta messing with it
     
  5. Scary Spice macrumors regular

    Scary Spice

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Location:
    British Columbia
    #5
    That doesn't sound like such a good idea. There are other backup solutions besides Time Machine.

    But of course EVERYONE running beta software is not doing so on a production machine. (wink wink)
     
  6. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #6
    That's probably not a bug. Or, did you receive an e-mail from Apple about a supposed fix?

    More likely a hardware problem. What's the disk, and how is it connected?
     
  7. Scary Spice macrumors regular

    Scary Spice

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Location:
    British Columbia
    #7
    I don't think so Tim. It is a 9 month old Time Capsule. Macbook air connected wirelessly of course. Working great now.

    The TC passes all hardware diagnostics.
     
  8. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #8
    Great since you installed yesterday's golden master?
     
  9. southerndoc macrumors 65816

    southerndoc

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    I still get messages that Time Machine has completed verification of backups and recommends a new backup. I'm using a Synology RS815+ NAS. This doesn't happen with my iMac or my wife's MacBook Pro. Only on my MacBook running macOS beta.
     
  10. grahamperrin, Sep 7, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2016

    grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #10
    If not a problem with the hardware, firmware and/or software of the device that provides Time Machine service, which (at a glance) has no wireless interface, then the problem must be with one or more of the following:
    • wireless router hardware
    • wireless router firmware
    • wireless network environment
    • Mac hardware, in particular the wireless network interface
    • Apple firmware
    • macOS software
    • uses of the Mac.

    Which build of Mac OS X? sw_vers(1)

    What's the model identifier of the Mac? system_profiler(8) -listDataTypes and you should find a type that will show the ID.

    Solid state, or hard disk drive?
     
  11. Scary Spice macrumors regular

    Scary Spice

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Location:
    British Columbia
    #11
    Nope. Great since DP8.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 8, 2016 ---
    For clarity, do you start a new TM backup after receiving this alert? TM will always return this message if the backup is corrupted until it is replaced.

    We observed this repeatedly on DP 4 - DP7 on a Macbook Air only. All other Macs were fine. So far the issue has dissappeared with DP8 on the MBA.
     
  12. Cutiekitty92 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Cutiekitty92

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    I really hope it starts working because Apple had no way of helping me. Kept telling me to just unplug the hard drive I'm using to backup on and trying again. Over 24 hrs estimated isn't right...
     
  13. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #13
    That – on its own – is surprisingly shallow advice. Without breaking confidence, can you say from where in Apple that came?
     
  14. Cutiekitty92 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Cutiekitty92

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    Online support chat. They then told me to ring the beta support
     
  15. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #15
    It's disappointing that Apple did not consider the possibility of a troublesome disk. Doubly disappointing, if you reported multiple failures.
     
  16. southerndoc macrumors 65816

    southerndoc

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #16
    Yes, I've probably done 4-5 new backups.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 8, 2016 ---
    Time Machine is running on a Synology RS815+/RX415 with 64TB of space in a RAID 1+0 setup.

    Wireless is provided by Ubiquiti UniFi AC-Pro (newest generation, 4 of them around the house). Firmware is latest (actually a beta firmware was installed recently). MacBook connects via 802.11ac with >500 Mbps rates consistently. This only occurs on a Retina MacBook 1.3 GHz with SSD. This doesn't occur on my wife's MacBook Pro with similar network setup, SSD, etc. Nor does it occur on my iMac (hardwired via CAT6 cable).
     
  17. Cutiekitty92 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Cutiekitty92

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    I'm still having backup problems, so I managed to get one done after waiting 24 hours.... had to leave my mac overnight and now only a few weeks later trying to backup again and its estimating 17 hours. What is going on! Also when I boot up my mac the apple logo and loading bar turns funny colours?
     

Share This Page