Time Machine Backup Question

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Bart H, Nov 25, 2012.

1. Bart H macrumors newbie

I am fairly new to using my iMac and have been backing up weekly to an external HD via Time Machine.

I am thinking of getting a 32G USB stick to be able to take a copy of my most recent Time Machine file with me when away from home as off site security. My TM files have been averaging 20G. This would be an alternative to a facility like Dropbox. I would plan to copy from my TM HD onto the USB stick following each backup.

Can anyone see any fault in my scheme? In the event of a data loss I realize I would have to copy by hand instead of using TM.

Thanks,
    Bart

2. flynz4 macrumors 68040

Yes, for starters, a human is involved.

/Jim

3. hfg macrumors 68040

hfg

The average 20GB Time Machine backups you are seeing are only the "incremental changes" your computer has seen since the last backup ... it is not the whole backup (which is accumulated on the backup disk). Thus, it is not likely that capturing a single one of them on a USB flash drive is going to be of much use to you in the event of a problem while away from the backup disk.

However, if your entire system image is less than 20GB (pretty small!), then you could make a bootable "emergency" USB drive which would get you going again (although slowly). You can use Disk Utility to create this, or a cloning program such as CCC (Carbon Copy Cloner) or others.

For maximum protection when using Time Machine, you should just leave it enabled all the time so it can perform hourly incremental backups which only take a few minutes, rather than waiting a full week to activate TM for your backup.

4. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member