Time Machine backup without touchpad use

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Fierfek, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. Fierfek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    #1
    A friend of mine needs me to back up his Macbook Pro (2007) that does not have a working touchpad. External mice do not work, and Apple asked him to back everything up before taking it in again. How can I back up his files without taking the machine apart, and using only the keyboard with Time Machine?

    Is there a way to use the arrows as a mouse?
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  3. appleguy123 macrumors 603

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #3
    What OS are you on? Why do external mice not work?
     
  4. Fierfek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    #4
    We're not sure why they're not working, but Apple wants to check it out after we do a backup. Either Leopard or Snow Leopard.
     
  5. appleguy123 macrumors 603

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #5
    I would just tell Apple what you told us. I don't actually know if there is a way to back it up without the mouse.
    You could probably get into the system prefs with a fn+ one of the function keys(it worked in SL, but it isn't working for me in Lion anymore).
     
  6. Fierfek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    #6
    Have been searching and it looks like mouse keys will work, if only I can figure out how to get into universal access and enable them.
     
  7. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #7
    I think your best bet would be to boot your friends Mac into Firewire Target Disk Mode while connected to another Mac and then use Carbon Copy Cloner to clone his hard drive to an external hard drive. No mouse or trackpad required.
     
  8. teleromeo macrumors 65816

    teleromeo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    kidnapped by aliens
    #8
    +1 for Target mode and carbon copy cloner. You'll get a bootable disk so maybe you can boot from it and see if your problem persists.
     
  9. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    Holding Option at boot is an easier way. If the trackpad's not working in the Startup Manager then it's definitely a hardware problem.
     

Share This Page