TIme Machine Backups to Windows/Samba Mount

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by swbrenneis, Feb 15, 2016.

  1. swbrenneis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    #1
    Hello everyone.

    There are some really old threads about this, and I didn't want to necro them.

    I have followed all of the steps in setting up the sparse bundle and I get here:

    sudo tmutil setdestination /Volumes/MyBackup

    I get this:

    /Volumes/MyBackup: Incompatible file system type: smbfs (error 45)
    The backup destination could not be set

    Well, obviously, the mount is an smbfs file system, but I see people have reported that it should work. Or it should have in 2013. Is there some magic I have to do to either Time Machine or Samba to make this work?

    Special note: The Samba server is a Raspberry Pi running Arch Linux. The Samba version is 4.3.1-1.

    Thanks in advance for any help.
     
  2. JohnDS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    #2
  3. NoBoMac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    #3
    Have not tried this, but from what I've read on this board, a bit hit/miss.

    In your case, you have not mounted the sparse bundle yet? Need to mount the Samba share first (guessing that's your /Volumes/MyBackup). Then need to mount the sparse bundle. Then you can issue the tmutil command against the mounted sparse bundle.
     
  4. JohnDS, Feb 15, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2016

    JohnDS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    #4
  5. swbrenneis thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    #5
    Perfect! That did it. I was directly mounting the sparsebundle as MyBackup. I backed up a level on the Samba directory and then mounted the sparsebundle. Thank you so much.

    Yes, from what I have read, it isn't even a good idea to count on it between OS upgrades. This is just a fallback option and not a critical backup.

    Again, thanks for your help. You rock!
    --- Post Merged, Feb 15, 2016 ---
    Yes, his advice is not do do it. If this was a critical backup, I wouldn't. This is just a fallback. Thank you for the link.
     

Share This Page