Time Machine/best way to back up files

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by nearfantastica, Sep 4, 2011.

1. nearfantastica macrumors newbie

I'm trying to come up with the best way to back up my files. I don't have the best back up system right now, and I've had a hard drive die on me before and I lost all my files, so I'm trying to come up with something.

I've read posts on this board about how people have one external drive for Time Machine and then another for media files. Is this the best way to go? I'm not all too familiar with Time Machine since this is my first Mac, so I'm not entirely sure how it works and why some people use two drives.

2. Gillespie81 macrumors regular

im right there with you. i am also new to mac and ive read that most people have two hard drives, one for time machine and one for all other. ive been going crazy going through thread after thread. i have a 128 ssd so im thing 2 1tb or 2 750 mb. i want the firewire for the speed and ive been looking at gtech, owc, or goflex pro because of the thunderbolt adapter that should be coming out soon.

sorry to hijack your thread but i was just getting ready to start one about the same thing

3. flynz4 macrumors 68040

I think you are a bit confused (at least if I understand what you are saying).

Regarding the media files... it is common for people with large media libraries to have an external drive for media... because their media library does not fit on the laptop HDD/SDD. This is not a backup... but just a different place to keep your media when your computer has limited internal storage.

Regarding backup... a good backup strategy has a few different criteria that should be met.

1) It should be automatic... meaning no human intervention.
    2) You need to protect against any single piece of media failing (ex: you HDD)
    3) You should protect against natural disaster and/or theft (one backup offsite).