Time Machine cannot use APFS

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by macagain, Sep 26, 2017.

  1. macagain macrumors 6502

    macagain

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    #1
    Looks like Time Machine will not back up to an APFS volume. It asks if you want to erase, then reformats as Mac OS Extended (Journaled). If you reformat it back to APFS again, it then tells you it cannot use this fs.
     
  2. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #2
    Yes, APFS doesn't support Time Machine or spinning disks yet.
     
  3. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #3
    That is true. Time Machine will not back up to an APFS drive. Carbon Copy Cloner will.
     
  4. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #4
    IT DOESN'T"T SUPPORT TM ON APFS SSD's EITHER! I found this out the hard way and converted my TM SSD and then tried to run a TM backup. oooops.. had to reformat to HFS and loose all my TM backups. Was no other way to do it. I wish I had know or received some sort of warning. I find this very odd that Apple forces APFS on your boot drive but doesn't have enough faith in it to let the TM SSD use it. Doesn't give you much confidence in APFS... ugg
     
  5. neliason macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    #5
    APFS doesn’t have hard links and Time Machine depends on hard links. They’ll have to make significant changes to get it to work. I find it odd they released a new file system without getting Time Machine to work on it, but they have.
     
  6. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #6
    I find that inexcusable. I would not have updated if I had know it was that wonky. Really makes you wonder what goes on in the bowels of the OSX development team. Seems rushed for no good reason. Oh well. . done now...
     
  7. Lioness~ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    #7
    Good to know.

    Haven’t upgrade to HS yet.
    Very NOT thought through of  to make a new file system not work through all of their eco-system before it leaves beta. It’s still a beta in my opinion.
     
  8. Marshall73 macrumors 65816

    Marshall73

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    #8
    But it DOES work as long as you don't format your Time Machine drive as APFS. And why would you? as its already HFS+ and working fine.
     
  9. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #9
    Why would you? Because if it is SSD and Apple says APFS is better, then why wouldn't you? (in theory anyway) Especially since you are forced to convert to APFS for the boot drive if you have an SSD. I agree if you don't have TM on SSD, there would be no reason to convert.
     
  10. Alrescha macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #10
    Some people might think it unwise to convert to a new file system on both the system disk and the backup at the same time...

    A.
     
  11. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #11
    Oh trust me, I dove right in to the shallow end of this pool with my eyes wide open. ugg
     
  12. jonnysods macrumors 603

    jonnysods

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    There & Back Again
    #12
    Wait so it will work if the drive is left alone and I update to High Sierra?
     
  13. Ebenezum macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    #13
  14. Hater macrumors 6502a

    Hater

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    #14
    My laptop formatted the main boot drive as APFS and left the secondary time machine drive as HFS, so it's not really an issue at this point.
     
  15. FCX macrumors newbie

    FCX

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    #15
    Yes.
     
  16. jonnysods macrumors 603

    jonnysods

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    There & Back Again
    #16
    Beauty thanks!
     
  17. jbachandouris macrumors 601

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #17
    I have the Airport Extreme and my backups have been working just fine. Not sure why yours aren't working.

    And no, I did not re-format the Airport Extreme's hard drive.
     
  18. donlab macrumors 6502

    donlab

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Location:
    USA
    #18
    Exceptional use case to use SSD as backup drive.
     
  19. WolfSnap macrumors 6502a

    WolfSnap

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #19
    APFS works just fine on spinning disks (external).. Have one attached to my mac right now. Works like a charm.
     
  20. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #20
    That’s good, but I personally wouldn’t do it until Apple starts converting startup spinning disks.
     
  21. redman042 macrumors 68030

    redman042

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    #21
    Wouldn't surprise me if Apple was working on a complete replacement for Time Machine based on APFS. Time Machine always been a bit finicky for me, and I've read horror stories. Though I expect such a thing would be at least a year out.
     

Share This Page

20 September 26, 2017