Time Machine Error, backup disk couldn't be mount

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Serge88, May 14, 2008.

  1. Serge88 macrumors member

    Serge88

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    #1
    I have a USB drive plug to my Airport Extreme and I use it for Time Machine. Today I had a message saying: "Latest Backup:Failed"

    Time Machine Error
    The Backup disk image could not be mounted.

    The hard disk is there, I can drag, drop, copy, delete files on that disk. There's is a big file call Serge'siMac_001ec205f583.sparsebundle, the file does not seem corrupted, I could probably drag it to the Desktop. How can I mount the backup disk.

    Serge
     
  2. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #2
    Turn the external HD off then back on. It should mount then.
     
  3. Serge88 thread starter macrumors member

    Serge88

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    #3
    No it didn't work, I tried to restarted the iMac, the hard disk, the Airport Extreme many times. I can see the hard disk in the Finder under Shared, Extreme88(it's the name of the wireless network) and it say Connected as Serge.

    Serge
     
  4. Serge88 thread starter macrumors member

    Serge88

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    #4
    To update , I have a windows warning, the following disk images failed to mount

    Serge's iMac_001ec205f83.sparsebundle Operation not supported on socket

    Serge
     
  5. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #5
    Sounds like the file is corrupt to me. Can you rename it and rerun a full backup?
     
  6. Serge88 thread starter macrumors member

    Serge88

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    #6
    Maybe but it takes about 4 day to do a backup over network :eek:

    Is there an utility to repair corrupt file ?

    Serge
     
  7. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
  8. Serge88 thread starter macrumors member

    Serge88

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    #8

    Do you mean connecting a network cable between my iMac and Airport extreme ? It's faster than wireless ?

    Serge
     
  9. Serge88 thread starter macrumors member

    Serge88

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    #9
    Something was corrupted on the disk, I repaired it with disk utility but time machine was still enable to use it. So I erased everything but this time i excluded everything from Time machine minus a few folders. Let see if backup is successful before trying a full backup.

    Something strange, my usb hard disk connected to Airport Extreme doesn't show up in Airport disk utility.

    Serge
     
  10. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #10
    Yes, much faster.
     
  11. HaroldC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    #11
    I also had a similar problem, and tried everything that was suggested in various threads. Finally, I just erased the entire TC disc using the 'zero' process, which took about ~8 hrs. Then connected my MBP via Ethernet cable to the TC and about ~8hrs later..... success!
     

Share This Page