Time Machine error when using Airport drive problems :-(

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Chic0, Mar 20, 2009.

  1. Chic0 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Whenever I try using Time Machine to backup to my ext drive connected to Extreme, I get an error stating "The backup volume is not in Mac OS Extended journaled format....". The problem is, the drive is formatted in Mac OS Extended (journaled) :confused:

    I orginally had this working fine few months ago. The drive was originally formatted as FAT32, so i connected to MBP via USB and allowed Time Machine to format it. The first backup was done whilst connected, then subsequent backups worked fine wirelessly.

    Then few weeks ago I had a problem so had to delete the previous backups and content. So i connected drive directly using USB again and created a new backup using Time Machine. When I tried backing up wirelessly it wouldnt work. I just kept getting the same formatting error in Time Machine.

    I have tried formatting drive again using Disk Utility to Mac OS Extended Journaled, but I am still unable to backup wirelessly. Does anyone know what could be going wrong?

    This issue is really winding me up as the drive is definately formatted correctly. Am I missing something?

    Any help greatly appreciated.......
     
  2. Chic0 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Any ideas on this issue?

    Whenever I connect via USB, backups work fine. Just unable do wirelessly :(
     
  3. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #3
    Umm, not sure how you got it working in the first place, but here's why.
     
  4. Chic0 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    yeah see what you mean, but there has to be a way. One of my friends has it working fine for him and it used to work for me. Just no idea how :confused:

    Also I have searched here and some people have it working for them by sounds of it.....
     
  5. newConvert macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    #5
    I used to have it working myself, then all of a sudden it stopped, thought it was the HD, but apparently not... I'm thinking that apple removed the functionality (or broke it) in a firmware update??? This is really aggravating as it was the sole reason for me to get an airport extreme
     
  6. hooper2 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    #6
    I could not be more annoyed at this...

    I tried the Terminal line and still no dice...
     

Share This Page