Time machine error

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Sir Loin Steak, Aug 28, 2009.

  1. Sir Loin Steak macrumors 6502

    Sir Loin Steak

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #1
    Any one have a clue what this means? Does it mean my external drive is full?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sir Loin Steak thread starter macrumors 6502

    Sir Loin Steak

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #2
    ... and in preferences, time machine, I get this:
     

    Attached Files:

  3. nightelf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    #3
    Have you changed anything in your Mac? New motherboard? Upgraded to SL?
     
  4. Sir Loin Steak thread starter macrumors 6502

    Sir Loin Steak

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #4
    No, nothing's changed.

    Appears to be plenty of space left in the volume.
     
  5. nightelf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
  6. tibi08 macrumors 6502a

    tibi08

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #6
    Try going into Disk Utility and checking what format the disk is. Also try to repair the disk from there.
     
  7. Sir Loin Steak thread starter macrumors 6502

    Sir Loin Steak

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #7
    Thanks both. I've carried out the instructoins on :apple: site, and the result is this:
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Sir Loin Steak thread starter macrumors 6502

    Sir Loin Steak

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #8
    Hmphh. Maybe it's ok now:
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Ooz Guest

    #9
    I have seen this happen every 2-3 days on my machine. I believe it happens when switching around users - specially to my son's account, which doesn't have any permissions. It might be that his account doesn't have permission to copy/write files from the hard drive or to the backup drive, and then throws this error.

    Whenever I've had it, I generally do a TM update manually (thru the menu bar, select "backup now"), and it has succeeded.

    I have not been overly worried, since the subsequent backup has completed successfully.
     
  10. Sir Loin Steak thread starter macrumors 6502

    Sir Loin Steak

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #10
    We don't switch users much, only if I'm experimenting, and I can't link the two events, but yes, it's possible that it was caused by this switching.
     

Share This Page