Time Machine Functionality question??

Discussion in 'macOS' started by texmacs, Oct 27, 2008.

1. texmacs macrumors newbie

I am new to Mac world. I just bought new Macbook Black and would like to know how Time machine works in Leopard before I actually consider buying it. So as far as I understand, it backs up whatever is on your mac. Now does that mean I can use it as external hard drive? I mean the macbook has 250GB capacity so if I exceed it can it be used to store stuff that’s not needed?

Thanks.

2. SydneyDev macrumors 6502

Yes. When you plug in a USB hard drive OS X asks you if you want to use it for a backup drive. You say yes, and that's pretty much it. The initial back up takes a long time but after that it's fast.

3. PhilaScott macrumors regular

PhilaScott

Do you mean a Time Capsule that is wireless storage with built in Wifi? Time Machine come built into MacOSX and is the software that allows automatic backups to an external HD -- whether direct connected or a wireless drive.

4. texmacs thread starter macrumors newbie

So does that mean, after intially backing up all your data IF you delete some folders, you can get it back from Time Machine? I mean is it equivalent to transferring your data from your mac to external hard drive which you can retrive by plugging external hard drive back, in Time Machine's case wirelessly?

5. iSee macrumors 68040

iSee

The answer to your question is yes.

But you're still confusing Time Machine and Time Capsule:

Time Capsule = hardware: a wireless router with a built-in hard drive, too.

Time Machine = software that will do a running backup of you Mac's hard drive to an external hard drive. Including the hard drive in a Time Capsule. It can also back up to hard drives you plug in via USB or other ways. The software is included with Mac OS X 10.5 (Leopard) which your new Mac came with.