time machine harddrives

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by JamesGorman, Mar 8, 2009.

  1. JamesGorman macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #1
    just wondering if i need a time capsule to use time machine or if any external drive that is mac compatible will work? and do i just connect it to the usb port?
     
  2. shady825 macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #3
  3. JamesGorman thread starter macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #4
    perfect, i will be buying my external soon than, and than hopefully my new HDD:) thanks for the speedy reply
     
  4. shady825 macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #5
    No problem.. That Toshiba one I gave a link to is a decent deal. I paid $119 @ BestBuy when I first got my MacBook in October, now it's only $79.
     
  5. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #6
    Sorry, fixed.
     
  6. shady825 macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #7
    I thought thats what you were meaning to say but wasnt sure.. :)
     
  7. JamesGorman thread starter macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #8
    i may go pick that one up than, that seems like a good deal. Also im going to get a 7200rpm drive regardless of how much of an improvement there is, but will i notice an improvement over my stock 5400 drive?
     
  8. shady825 macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #9
    I want to do the same. 500GB 7200RPM.. Im sure it will be a bit faster but nothing to knock your socks off! Ive heard people are getting a lot of vibration with the faster hard drives. I dont know if its brand specific or just the faster ones in general..
     
  9. JamesGorman thread starter macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #10
    yea, the vibration factor is throwing me off a lil bit. Ideally id like to get a 256SSD, but thats tough to do on a students budget. I think ill look around and see if i can find a 7200rpm drive that has the least vibration.
     
  10. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #11
    I doubt you will get any performance benefit over USB.
     
  11. Scippy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #12
    Is there really any point in getting a 7200 rpm, just to backup your files?
     
  12. shady825 macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #13
    I know this link is about a PS3 but you can see everything is essentially faster with a faster hard drive. It might not be super noticeable but it is faster. The PS3 starts up about 2 seconds faster with a 7200RPM hard drive compared to the 5400. Game load times were also up to 2 seconds difference.

    Again I know this is about a PS3 but I'm just showing an example of a faster hard drive in action.
     
  13. intelplatoon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #14
    hey i was gonna do this^ pretty soon, but had a few questions about it.

    the stock HD in my macbook is about 15 gigs from full, and is starting to bog down the speed of my computer.
    so i want to backup everything to an external HD, and delete the music, movie and picture files from my computer (because thats the majority thats using up my HD).....my question is? will i be able to access these files on the HD from my macbook at anytime, and use them as if they were still on my stock HD???......please forgive the newbie question....im still learning bout this stuff.

    thanks:D
     
  14. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #15
    If its formatted HFS+ or FAT32 then yes, if NTFS then your gonna need something like MacFuse & NTFS-3G
     
  15. JamesGorman thread starter macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #16
    i dont think you understand what im trying to do lol, and thats my fault for maybe not making it clear:p. ill be getting a 7200 to put into my macbook, and the question about backups was a serperate question. I didnt want to have to spend lots on a time capsule if any old external would do. Although i may get a time capsule, as the networking capabilities are a nice added feature.
     
  16. Libitina macrumors 6502

    Libitina

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  17. Libitina macrumors 6502

    Libitina

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #18
  18. shady825 macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #19
    Yes. Why wouldnt it?
     

Share This Page