Time Machine help

Discussion in 'iMac' started by 262Runnr, May 21, 2018.

  1. 262Runnr macrumors regular

    262Runnr

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    NC
    #1
    I have a 2012 MBP that has treated me very well. I have a Thunderbolt display as my extended desktop.
    The machine is a 2.9GHz i7 with 16GB RAM with Intel HD Graphics 4000. I took out the optical drive and replaced both drives with a 1TB SSD as my main drive and a 500GB SSD where the optical drive used to be.
    I'm not having any trouble with it but I'm getting tired of looking at the measly 1280X800 display on the laptop.
    I just ordered an iMac 27" 5K and would like to use Time Machine to transfer everything over. I'm excited about the 5K display.
    Honestly, I have never used Time Machine before and I'm wondering if it can really restore my information to the new iMac when it arrives in a few days.
    I am creating a Time Machine backup on a separate 6TB drive as I type this so it will be ready to restore.
    How does Time Machine work and is it reliable or should I just start from scratch with the new iMac and install fresh apps?
    Thanks
     
  2. Darmok N Jalad macrumors 65816

    Darmok N Jalad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Location:
    Tanagra
    #2
    You might try the "Transfer my information from another Mac" option when you first set up your 5K. You should just need to connect an ethernet cable between the two machines, and then setup will basically do the rest.

    You'll love that 5K iMac. I own one too. It's a joy to use.
     
  3. mreg376 macrumors 65816

    mreg376

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #3
    Will that work, a direct ethernet connection? That would be ideal. But according to the Apple instructions it says both machines have to be on the same network. I don't recall anything about a direct connection.
     
  4. Mikael H macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #4
    With a direct Ethernet connection the computers are quite literally on the same physical network. What remains then is to give them addresses in the same logical network and run the migration assistant.
    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204350
     
  5. MandiMac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #5
    Hi there, Time Machine is usually very reliable. If you have no problems regarding apps or performance on your MacBook, you should see zero problems on your new machine as well :)

    Time Machine copies all of your data once and then tracks only the changes. As a standard, this procedure runs hourly without informing you so in the worst case you have a backup that's max 1 hour old. If you choose to restore from Time Machine on your new iMac, it will recognise the backup and restore that on the iMac. It's simple, easy to use and worked for me every time. Plus, every setting will be transferred so you will have the exact same experience!
     
  6. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #6
    I've done it several times without issue, but it does take awhile, hours probably. You plug your backup drive into the new machine and turn the computer on. After you get through the admin stuff its going to ask if you want to restore/transfer from a Time Machine backup. Say yes, pick the backup drive from the menu and it will be seamless.... except for the wait.

    Some here like to do a clean install, only transferring selected backup files and user accounts. For this you set up the new machine, reinstall the apps you want, then use migration assistant to bring over selected account settings and folders from the backup. Takes more work but you are not bringing along extra trash.

    In either case, its just takes time.
     
  7. 262Runnr thread starter macrumors regular

    262Runnr

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    NC
    #7
    I don't care about how long it takes, my only concern is which method is preferable....restoring from a Time Machine backup or Mitigation Assistant? Or are they pretty much both about the same as far as going from one Mac to another...?
    thanks for all the replies...
     
  8. ColdCase, May 22, 2018
    Last edited: May 22, 2018

    ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #8
    There are less steps and less chance for operator error by just plugging in the USB drive and restoring from your time machine backup.

    If that doesn't produce the desired result, there are other methods.

    Preferable is somewhat subjective and you will find different opinions from folks with different technical backgrounds.
     
  9. MandiMac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #9
    Pretty much the same. A TM backup does not require you to connect your Macs together, so I guess that‘s preferable.
     

Share This Page