Time Machine just ERASED my back-up???

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Jodeo, Feb 18, 2017.

  1. Jodeo, Feb 18, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2017

    Jodeo macrumors regular

    Jodeo

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Location:
    Middle Tennessee
    #1
    Last August I switched from cloud back-up to a 4TB drive on my home network. The drive's been running fine, and incrementals have run consistently. I've occasionally used the Time Machine UI to retrieve old files - very slick. (Between our 2 computers we have ~2.5TB of capacity, btw.)

    The other day I noticed a message saying that Time Machine needs to create a fresh back-up or something. Whatever. I didn't pay it any mind and went about my business. Just now, I got a message that the back-up was now complete. Hmmmmm.

    I opened TM only to find that everything prior to Thursday night is gone. That history was wiped. I didn't think Time Machine worked that way. Note that nothing has been done to my computer or the drive or anything else on our network.

    Any ideas what happened?
     
  2. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
  3. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #3
    This is a known issue with network-based Time Machine backups. Eventually, Time Machine will detect a problem in the disk image and deem the data compromised. Sometimes it is possible to fix it, but overall I would not rely on it too much.
     
  4. Jodeo thread starter macrumors regular

    Jodeo

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Location:
    Middle Tennessee
    #4
    Wow. I did not know this about Time Machine. I had CrashPlan before and didn't want to keep spending $150/yr. But in 4 years they kept every file without fail. I guess you get what your pay for - that, or I need to stop using TM.
     
  5. BorderingOn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Location:
    BaseCamp Pro
    #5
    You can always have more than one TM disk. Maybe one you take off site. This alleviates the issue.
     

Share This Page