Time machine keeps stopping?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by iemcj, Sep 14, 2016.

  1. iemcj, Sep 14, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2016

    iemcj macrumors 6502

    iemcj

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    #1
    The identity of the backup disk “AirPort Extreme” has changed since the previous backup.

    The disk may have been replaced or erased, or someone may be trying to trick your computer into backing up to the wrong disk.

    Use this disk Don't Back Up

    The backup disk image “/Volumes/Backups-1/5k.sparsebundle” could not be created (error (null)).

    This is what I keep getting. I have a brand new Airport Extreme and a 5 tb seagate external harddrive hooked up to it via the usb 3.0 cable. Followed the full instructions on apples website, formatted it to OS X Extended and all that jazz.

    I can access the hard drive though the network just fine. I can put whatever folder or files I want on there manually, access them, delete them, all works as it should. However whenever I try to do a time machine backup, it never finishes. The text on top is what it's giving me right now, it did the first 30 gigs or so then stops.

    I don't have a screenshot but I remember it said something about this drive has changed, I could click to continue using it or opt not to so of course I opt to continue. Then it brought me to this screen.

    On a whim, I directly plugged the drive into the back of my imac though the usb3 cable and it backed up properly overnight. No problem at all, yay. But when I ejected and put that external drive into the Airport Extreme, time machine doesn't recognize that backup and keeps trying to create a whole new file. It won't recognize that it's the backup it just made a few minutes ago.

    Any ideas how to fix this? This is all brand new equipment and I specifically bought the 250 dollar Apple router instead of a cheap linksys to avoid this nonsense, I made sure the computer isn't going to sleep so that's not the culprit. Thanks so much in advance!
     
  2. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
  3. iemcj thread starter macrumors 6502

    iemcj

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    #3
    Yes. The latest model, the one that is like 7 inches tall and 4 inches wide. Like I said, I specifically bought the apple one because I wanted it to be as seamless as possible yet their "time capsule" maxes out at 3 tb and that's simply not enough for me as a photographer, I'd fill that up in less than a single season!
     
  4. JohnDS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    #4
    The backups work differently if you back over USB or over a network. You can't update a backup made over USB over a network:

    Have a careful read through this: http://pondini.org/TM/AEQ2.html
     
  5. iemcj thread starter macrumors 6502

    iemcj

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    #5
    I appreciate the response. I ran though that page perfectly for the past two days to make sure I didn't miss a step. Still doesn't work right.

    The identity of the backup disk “AirPort” has changed since the previous backup.
    The disk may have been replaced or erased, or someone may be trying to trick your computer into backing up to the wrong disk.


    Still getting this screen, it'll go for a while, sometimes an hour, sometimes more, then eventually stop and say this. :(
     
  6. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #6
    You can use /Applications/Utilities/Terminal.app and first run the command:
    Code:
    diskutil list
    . This will list all the mounted disks in your Mac and find your Time Machine disk identifier! You could use that identifier DS1 or DS02. Then use the command like this:
    Code:
    sudo diskutil enableOwnership /dev/disk1s2
    (I used disk1s2as an example).

    This way you can take ownership of that time Machine, good luck!
     

Share This Page