Time Machine - Locked after restore!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by IEatApples, Apr 28, 2009.

  1. IEatApples macrumors 6502a

    IEatApples

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Location:
    Northern Hemisphere (Norway)
    #1
    Well here's the story:

    I used Drive Genius 2 (from DVD) to defrag my HDD … and I think it did …but in addition to that it apparently messed everything up so I couldn't boot from it = I had to do a restore from my Time Machine backup … and so I did … but then everything got messed up in terms of permissions, and after a restart - well, it didn't start :( … so, once again, same restore from Time Machine, and this time everything seems fine, except for the fact that my backup drive tells me that I have no access to it - I have no permission to even open it! And thus I can't use it as a backup or anything else, it's a 1TB useless disk! :(

    [​IMG]

    Question: Is there any way to "regain" access to my HDD? Any way to have it continue as a backup drive without deleting the "old" backups stored on it now?

    P.S.: Not sure if this is relevant, but I also have a small 60GB BootCamp partition with Vista :)o) on the 1TB backup drive.
     
  2. IEatApples thread starter macrumors 6502a

    IEatApples

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Location:
    Northern Hemisphere (Norway)
    #2
    Is it possible to login with more "access" then a usual administrator account?

    I really need to fix this issue, I now have no backup disk! :(

    + Now I found out that another one of my HDDs (a 500GB with a small 45GB BootCamp - XP partition) are having the same problem.

    Please help! :eek:
     
  3. IEatApples thread starter macrumors 6502a

    IEatApples

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Location:
    Northern Hemisphere (Norway)
    #3
    Hmm… no help? :confused:

    Well, I guess I'll just have to delete everything & reformat the drives then. :(

    … I can't even see what I'll be deleting/loosing… ah well, at least my main drive is okay now! :cool:
     
  4. IEatApples thread starter macrumors 6502a

    IEatApples

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Location:
    Northern Hemisphere (Norway)
    #4
    I called Apple and they gave me the solution :):

    http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?messageID=9035132&#9035132

    but if your hard drives name includes a [space] like this: "My HD", then you must write the command like this:

    or like in my example:

    It saved both my drives! THANK YOU APPLE!!! :)
     
  5. timdost macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    #5
    Terminal not working

    For my part it is still not working. I entered the code you said, Ieatapples, and then it delivered this message:



    Tim-Dosts-MacBook:~ timdost$ sudo chflags 0 /Volumes/My\ Book sudo chown 0:80 /Volumes/My\ Book sudo chmod 775 /Volumes/My\ Book sudo chmod -N /Volumes/My\ Book
    chflags: sudo: No such file or directory
    chflags: chown: No such file or directory
    chflags: 0:80: No such file or directory
    chflags: sudo: No such file or directory
    chflags: chmod: No such file or directory
    chflags: 775: No such file or directory
    chflags: sudo: No such file or directory
    chflags: chmod: No such file or directory
    chflags: -N: No such file or directory

    Do you know any solution for my problem? I messed everything up I think with migrating the accounts (with the same usernames) back and forth.
     
  6. gdeoliveira macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

Share This Page