Time Machine never works over AE

Discussion in 'macOS' started by hobbbz, Jul 3, 2008.

  1. hobbbz macrumors 6502a

    hobbbz

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    #1
    I have an Airport Extreme (N) with a MyBook attached.
    When Leopard came out I hooked the disk up to my 12" PowerBook for the first backup and then moved it to the Airport for subsequent backups. This set up has always worked.

    However, I tried to do the same exact thing with my girlfriend's 15" MBP and it backs up over USB but will fail over Airport no matter what.

    Any tips? Anything I left out that would make a difference in the answer?
     
  2. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #2


    If you're gonna TM over AE then you need to plug the computer via ethernet for the very first backup, since it's 10GB+ in size... Then after that you can do TM via AE wifi ...
     
  3. hobbbz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hobbbz

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    #3
    So the USB first, then WiFi doesn't work?

    It worked for my 12". But I will try it and report back.
     
  4. hobbbz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hobbbz

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    #4
    Interesting results!

    Connecting over ethernet, I can see the drive and R/W to it.

    However backup never works, it fails in about 10 secs. saying "Unable to mount drive"

    Interestingly, if I connect to the drive and try to delete the old backup to hopefully 'reset' the TM my MyBook powers off and the file delete errors out.

    The drive then restarts, powers up and I can continue R/W
     
  5. Nero Wolfe macrumors regular

    Nero Wolfe

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #5
    Is there a disk password set for the AE?
     
  6. hobbbz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hobbbz

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    #6
    Yes.
    I just tried to turn off the password and the only options are "With accounts", "with disk password", and "With airport extreme password"

    It was set to with ae password
     
  7. DaveF macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    NoVA
    #7
    Though this was enabled in 10.5.3, it is officially not supported by Apple. I had planned to use the AEBS-connected drive for Time Machine until I learned that it still wasn't meant for publich consumption.
     

Share This Page