time machine not backing up

Discussion in 'macOS' started by rph105, Nov 13, 2007.

  1. rph105 macrumors 6502

    rph105

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #1
    for some reason, when i go in time machine, i cant go back in time, the only day tht is avaiable is 'today', i cant right click the drive anymore and press back up now, anyone know whts up?
     
  2. Cinematographer macrumors 6502a

    Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Location:
    far away
    #2
    Same here. But that's because I started Time Machine today. There are no earlier backups available yet.

    You have to right-click on the programm icon in the dock. Does that work?
     
  3. numbersyx macrumors 65816

    numbersyx

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #3
    Having the same problem. I backed up the day of Leopard's release and two weeks later could only go to 'Today'. I erased that backup and re-backed up. Still the same problem..... don't know what to do....
     
  4. theBB macrumors 68020

    theBB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    #4
    Are you guys using an HFS+ formatted external hard disk connected to your drive?
     
  5. wheezy macrumors 65816

    wheezy

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Alpine, UT
    #5
    That's probably what it is my guess, My external Seagate is HFS+ and it's using Time Machine flawlessly.

    Most, if not all of the External Drives you buy somewhere are formatted FAT32 I believe, so it's plug and play for both Windows/Mac. I would think that Time Machine uses spotlight technology somewhat for the back in time traveling, which requires an indexed drive, which requires HFS+ formatting.

    Well, you can force-index a FAT32 drive, but you have to actually do that in Terminal I believe... then it might work for Time Machine.
     
  6. Cinematographer macrumors 6502a

    Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Location:
    far away
    #6
    Sounds reasonable. But I'd expect Time Machine to check that at start.
     
  7. numbersyx macrumors 65816

    numbersyx

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #7
    Mine is partitioned: it has a HFS+ drive with TM on it and a FAT 32 drive with my individual file backups that can be moved across to Windows... You think that might be the problem?
     
  8. rph105 thread starter macrumors 6502

    rph105

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #8
    i dunno what mine is started using time machine when i bought leopard too, and it workedd fine, now i can only go to today, what is the problem, tried re-formatting, no luck, what should i do
     
  9. numbersyx macrumors 65816

    numbersyx

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #9
    Fixed It!!!!

    The solution to my problem was that my computer was not named. I went into Sharing and put in a computer name and viola it now works....
     

Share This Page