Time Machine on a Raid 1 array?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by newsushi, Dec 20, 2011.

  1. newsushi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    #1
    I have two identical 1TB Western Digital Elements external hard drives. I currently use one for Time Machine and the other is just sitting around. I would like to have a backup for my Time Machine drive in case it fails. To create this backup, I am considering using Disk Utility to create a Raid 1 (mirror) using the two identical drives. After making the raid, my Macbook should see the drives as one unit and I should be able to use the raid as my Time Machine. Thus, any time Time Machine performs any function, it should perform the function for both drives. If one fails, I should be able to replace one drive and allow it to rebuild.

    Does anyone use this system? Does this sound like a good system? Given that I have a second identical drive just sitting around, are there really any drawbacks to this system? I should note that I also have an offsite Time Machine backup, but it's one that I can only update about once per month. Thanks for your guidance.
     
  2. firestarter macrumors 603

    firestarter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Location:
    Green and pleasant land
    #2
    It sounds pointless to me to use RAID 1. You already have the data itself, and one Time Machine backup - having the Time Machine in a RAID does little to improve resilience.

    What happens if you have a fire / theft / flood / electrical fault / data corruption / virus and you loose all the drives connected to your computer?

    With two drives you can have a much safer strategy by keeping one offsite in another location.
     
  3. newsushi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    #3
    Read the second to last sentence. I already have an offsite backup that I use about once per month.
     
  4. firestarter macrumors 603

    firestarter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Location:
    Green and pleasant land
    #4
    Fair enough.

    I think you're just wasting electricity considering RAID 1 TBH.

    If it were me... I'd instead use one of those disks to create a bootable backup (using CCC). It's often handy to have one of those around - Time Machine is convenient but it takes a while to restore from.
     
  5. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #5
    RAID1 is for high availability, not backup. That's not something you need with Time Machine.

    I like firestarter's idea of using CCC or SuperDuper! (my preference) to make a bootable backup of the main drive. In fact, that is exactly what I do.

    S-
     

Share This Page