Time Machine Q. please.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Vagrant Pistol, Jul 13, 2008.

  1. Vagrant Pistol macrumors member

    Vagrant Pistol

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    so if my internal HD on my iMac is going to be anywhere between 180G to 200G, is a external 250G HD enough for Timemachine? I was searching the forums and couldn't find an answer for this simple question.:apple:
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    That's more then enough for Time Machine. It depends more on how far back you want your backups to span and how much data you're actually going to have.
     
  3. chainprayer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #3
    plenty of space! time machine doesn't back up anything thats included on a basic osx install, so that saves you a ton of backup space/time.
     
  4. MacGeek7 macrumors 6502a

    MacGeek7

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    #4
    I think there are some 1 TB HDs on Newegg.com for a little over $200
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    Unless you tell Time Machine to exclude System folders, hidden Unix folders, and anything else you exclude. Time Machine is going to backup everything on the hard drive.
     
  6. Vagrant Pistol thread starter macrumors member

    Vagrant Pistol

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey

Share This Page