Time Machine question if number of drives isn't the same?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by eroxx, Dec 27, 2012.

  1. eroxx macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #1
    Right now I have a 2010 imac with TWO internal drives. Both are backed up to my time machine.

    My new imac will have only one drive (fusion drive). Is there anything specific I need to do regarding the time machine restore so that my apps and data play nice with each other?
     
  2. switon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    #2
    RE: TM restore...

    Hi eroxx,

    I assume that you are going to just restore your user accounts and not the system from your TM backups, correct? In which case, use the Migration Assistant and only transfer your user accounts and any other content your might have, such as photos, music, movies, etc. Do not restore the system directories from your TM backups. I don't think you should have any problems as long as your new iMac with FUD is large enough in capacity to store all of your content and user accounts from your older 2010 iMac.

    Good luck and enjoy your new machine,
    Switon

    P.S. Let us know how you like the Fusion drive...they are new enough that those of us without one are still interested in how well they work. Thanks.
     
  3. eroxx thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #3
    Hmmm, now I'm even more confused.

    I'll want my new mac to look (more or less) exactly like my old, I figured Time Machine was the easiest way to do that. I've never used Migration assistant.

    I have a TON of apps/menu bar icons/etc on this, and thought time machine wouldb e the easiest way???
     
  4. benwiggy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #4
    Migration Assistant is an automatic utility, which can use a TM backup, or another Mac directly, as its data source. It's designed by Apple expressly for the purpose of ... migrating! :D
    It allows you to specify which things are brought over an which are not; it also may perform some housekeeping and be a little intelligent about what to bring over.

    As said, you don't want to restore the OS from your previous Mac onto your new machine!

    MA generally handles most things well: some pro apps will need reinstalling. I had trouble with Creative Suite, and Logic 8 wanted its serial number re-entered. But apart from that, my whole setup was transferred effortlessly. All apps, settings, libraries, files, etc.

    As for Fusion Drives: I love mine. I'm well over the size of the SSD, and I can't notice any speed lag when the hard drive is accessed.
     
  5. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #5
    This is encouraging. My Apple Guru has been trying to get me to us MA for two years without success....This time I'm going to bite I think...What's always put me off the concept:

    1) Speed.Wifi is slow as, and I can perform copy much more quickly from my R4.

    2) Custom installation... I prefer to have control over what gets copied.


    Having said all that, and with GBXX of stuff on my TC that has never actually been accessed but for a couple of times looking for a specific file, I think the time has come to take the plunge.

    My Current Imac is connected to the TC via an ethernet cable. The new one ( 3TB FUD BTO ) will arrive in January.
     
  6. switon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    #6
    RE: MA and TM...

    Hi eroxx,

    As benwiggy has already pointed out, MA can use your TM backups to restore all of your apps/menu bar items and personal preferences. You just should not restore the OS from your TM backup, and MA will assist you in the transfer and will try not to let you restore the TM backup's OS over the OS that is present on your new iMac. I believe that you will find the MA quite useful for your restoration task, that's all.

    Good luck,
    Switon

    PS: benwiggy: thanks for the info on your FUD...the 4GB reserved SSD write space must work well ...

    PPS: MA does not really help with restoring servers, however, but maybe servers should be restored/transferred manually anyway.
     
  7. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #7
    The first time Machine backup will backup the whole drive! The good wireless backup should first use an Ethernet cable for the first backup and then with the small backup changes can be done on wireless. Try that first to see if it works for you.
     
  8. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #8
    Oh it works...It's just slow...I'm spoiled by working with Thunderbolt data transfer speeds...I guess patience is a virtue I don't have!
     

Share This Page